Charlotte Tilbury Light Wonder foundation Review

I have to say foundation is something that I’m quite picky about but I’ve heard a lot of good things about the offerings by Charlotte Tilbury so when I saw that you could get some free samples from their website I jumped at the chance. Unfortunately I don’t think this foundation is for me despite it looking lovely on camera in reality it’s almost a little too glowy…
ct
This is one of the sample sachets and it’s in the shade fair 3, there’s four different shades of fair which is pretty decent for pale girls such as myself who can struggle to find a shade. The full size of this product is pretty pricey at £32.00 per bottle so this is very much a high end foundation.

The foundation claims to be youth boosting and the name light wonder derives from the light reflecting particles in the foundation which aids with the concealment of dark shadows and dull skin, the idea behind this is that it promises radiant and glowing skin to the wearer.

The product description is as follows:
An air-light formula with wonder powers: it illuminates, smoothes, hydrates, minimises pores and reduces wrinkles for perfect skin. When it comes to foundation, I have one simple rule: perfect coverage in a light-weight formula. Eyes can be intense, lips can be full on, but your complexion should be seamless, breathable and beautiful. It’s one of my 7 wonders for your skin! This innovative technology breathes a diaphanous veil of youth-enhancing tint across your complexion, evening out imperfections and moisturising the skin. It’s like a halo effect of luminosity and colour. A pool of youth-boosting actives helps reduce wrinkles, fight uneven skin tone and smooth over the surface for a “baby-skin effect”. A botanical alternative to retinol stimulates epidermal renewal by kick-starting collagen production, delaying the onset of wrinkles and creating a perfect make-up base. SPF 15 protects skin from UV damage. Pseudo-ceramides hydrate your skin for up to 18 hours. For dry, normal, combination skin types.”

I have combination skin that leans towards the drier side of the spectrum so in my mind my skin is perfect for testing this foundation. I am twenty one so anti-ageing isn’t a major factor when I’m looking at a foundation but my skin can look dull at times and I’m starting to get fine lines under my eyes so being proactive is never a bad thing.

The texture of this is fairly thin but you can build this up, I would say that it has a medium coverage it’s heavier than a tinted moisturiser but if you’re looking for something with heavier coverage this probably isn’t suited to you. I’ve been really into glowing skin lately so this sounded right up my street.

Although this is glowy to me it’s too glowy, on camera it translates beautifully however, in real life I found that this was glowy to the point of me looking slightly sweaty which I wasn’t a huge fan of, although the shade was a little dark for me I did also find that it oxidised throughout the day turning progressively darker so I did end up with lines on my jawline where the colour changed. In terms of longevity this wasn’t bad but I imagine that for those with oilier skin this would need to be touched up repeatedly.
foundation on me end look
Sadly I wasn’t a huge fan of this and for the price it needs to be something mind blowing, having said that I also have a sample of the Magic Foundation to try so I’m hoping that the formulation of that will be a little better. I think for me though this isn’t something I’d buy for myself and I probably wouldn’t recommend it.

The Charlotte Tilbury Light Wonder Foundation is available here for £32.00.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried this foundation and how it fared for you.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Face and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Charlotte Tilbury Light Wonder foundation Review

  1. rachelhailesx says:

    It’s a shame that the foundation was a little too glowy. 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

