Lush D’Fluff Strawberry Shaving Soap Review

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while now you may have guessed that I’m a rather big fan of Lush. I hadn’t really tried many of their products until this past year but Lush is like Pandora’s Box – once you get your first taste you will quickly find yourself buying all of the things…or at least I did! Today I have a review of the D’fluff shaving soap, this is such a unique concept having a pot of soap to shave with so I hope that you enjoy this review.
dfluff
The Lush D’Fluff Strawberry Shaving Soap is essentially a solid yet soft shaving soap that you can apply to your body to shave with. I’ve tried a few shaving creams and as a serial shaver I’ve had enough razor burn to really understand the need for a decent shaving soap, Rachel actually bought herself this but she was kind enough to let me use it. This is the smaller 70g pot I believe which retails for £5.75.

The product contains a blend of strawberries, fairtrade cocoa butter, rose hip oil and rose absolute and the main aim (other than smelling nice) is to moisturise the skin during and after shaving to prevent the dryness that can often accompany shaving. As someone with dry skin I can honestly say that shaving can sometimes dry my skin out so a product like this is very useful.
dfluff descrip
The product claims are as follows:
We’ve whisked up our shaving soap with fresh strawberries and cocoa butter to create a gorgeous bit of fluff that leaves you silky smooth. This marshmallowy treat contains coconut oil, golden syrup, and egg whites to create a light texture that makes de-fluffing a dream.

I would say that marshmallowy is a great word for this product as it does have a very marshmallowesque texture to it, it’s quite spongy and bouncy to the touch almost like a thin mousse and it lathers up easily and spreads well when applying it to the skin. I did find that it improved the way my razor glides across the skin (especially as I use disposable razors) and it prevented my skin from drying out as well which was nice.

Unfortunately a downside to this was the scent, I was really excited to see the word strawberry on here as I love fruity and sweet scents but sadly this smells  very heavily of rose to me which is not a scent that I’m a fan of. This was herbally and floral as opposed to the light strawberry scent that I was hoping for and in all honesty I struggled to use this as the scent was really off putting, it’s a real shame because I usually adore Lush products but I just couldn’t get along with the scent of this.
dfluff inside
I think that if you do love rose scents then this is a product that you will enjoy using if you shave regularly but for someone like me who isn’t much of a fan then I would probably recommend that you give this one a miss, hopefully though Lush will make this product in different scents as it does work well. I’d personally love a fruity scented one or even something like a mint scented one…

The Lush D’Fluff Shaving Soap is available here for £5.75.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried this Lush product and if so what your thoughts were, also pleaseleave your Lush recommendations in the comments!

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Body and Fragrance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lush D’Fluff Strawberry Shaving Soap Review

  1. rachelhailesx says:

    Great review. I find that this shaving soap is absolutely amazing for moisturising the skin! I was also pulled into buying the shaving soap as I thought it would smell like strawberry too haha. 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

