ELF HD Blusher in Showstopper Review

You may have remember a while ago that I ordered some products from the ELF website (it was a while ago now) and one product that intrigued me was the ELF HD Blush in Showstopper. First of all the purple shade, there’s not many brands that offer a berry or purple toned blusher (I can think of Urban Decay’s Afterglow Blush in Bittersweet) and I was intrigued by the pump formula. I’ve been trialling this  product this week so here’s my thoughts.
elf hd blush
The packaging is relatively plain and I have to admit I do like some of Elf’s packaging but this doesn’t really jump out to me save for the colour. The clear plastic shows the colour of the product which is marketed as a berry tone. I picked this up in the sale so I’m not sure how much it cost especially as it’s not currently on the UK Elf website.
pea size amount
First up, this stuff stains, if you can see the pink all over my hand that’s my hand AFTER I scrubbed the blusher off it, seriously this stuff sticks around. As you can see I’ve applied a very small amount to my hand, but even that is too much.
blended swatch
This is my hand after blending! As you can see this is crazily pigmented to a point where I really don’t think this is very wearable. A light hand and blending isn’t really enough with this as it dries increidbly quickly and doesn’t budge once set it’s very easy to end up with clown cheeks. I ended up wearing this under my foundation and with concealer over the top just to make it wearable which in all honesty is a joke really when you think about it. The dry texture means that this isn’t very creamy or watery it’s just pure pigment so it’s very difficult to work with. The pump mechanism also is stiff making it difficult to control how much product comes out of this.

Overall, I’m not a fan of this as it’s just not wearable, it’s very neon and I think such a shade would work better as a powder or cream where it would blend easier. I personally wouldn’t repurchase this or recommend. This isn’t currently available on the UK ELF website but it may be floating around on blog sales and Ebay.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments what you think of this blush, would you dare to work with this?

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Beauty on a Budget, Face and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

