Avril Lavigne Inspired LOTD

I’m sure that all nineties kids (sorry I couldn’t resist the use of that phrase) will agree with me when I say that Avril Lavigne was (and still is) one of the best pop stars of our childhood. I adore Avril Lavigne’s grungy meets girly style so here’s a look inspired by her.
avril lavigne finished look
Eyes:
MUA Pro Base Primer:
I started with my usual eye primer, this is a budget primer from MUA and it has a doe foot applicator. I simply swipe this across my lids then blend.
Rimmel London Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Liner in Black:
For the majority of this smokey look I lined my tightline, waterline and lash lines with this eyeliner. I then took a small domed eyeshadow brush and used that to blend out the eyeliner. This eyeliner works really well for this as it’s creamy so it smudges well.
Rimmel London Glam Eyes Quad in 001 Smokey Noir:
To prevent the eye makeup from being too heavy I used a makeup removing wipe very lightly. I then used a black eyeshadow lightly and blended to continue the smokey effect.
Maybelline Great Lash Mascara:
I’m still enjoying my Maybelline Great Lash Mascara, it has a very small wand which is excellent for precision and it doubles up as a bottom lash mascara as well.
L’oreal Brow Artist Pencil in Brunette:
Avril has quite thin brows so I’ve used this darker pencil to fill mine in, I quite like this as it’s very pigmented so a little goes a long way, I would definitely recommend a light hand with this though.
Face:
L’oreal Paris Studio Secrets Smoothing Resurfacing Primer:
This primer reminds me of the GOSH Velvet Touch Line Perfector which is one of my favourite primers. This really helps to smooth out my skin and keeps my base on for longer.
L’oreal True Match Foundation in 1n:
I’ve almost used up this foundation which is a shame because it’s top notch. I really love this for my skin as it provides a medium buildable coverage that offers a dewy finish.
Maybelline Instant Eye Eraser Concealer:
I applied this under my eyes and using the Real Techniques Detailer Brush I also used this around my eye area to clear up any smudges from the eyeliner that I didn’t want.
Astor Deluxe Bronzer in 002 Safari Fever:
I used a very light amount of this just to carve out my cheekbones a little bit, I didn’t use much as I was going for a natural look.
Topshop Glow in Polish:
I actually applied this highlighter under my makeup, I’ve found that although this highlighter is beautiful sometimes it can move my makeup so I apply this under my foundation to my cheekbones and then it shines through my foundation.
Rimmel London Lasting Finish Mono Blush in Santa Rose:
I wanted to create a really natural looking flush to the cheeks, in this photo the brightness and exposure is quite high so we can’t see Avril’s cheeks clearly but I imagined that a pale flush would look very complimentary.
Max Factor Creme Puff Powder:
I dusted a very small amount of this powder to the areas where my makeup tends to fade the most just to keep it on a little bit longer.

Lips:
Seventeen Mirror Shine Lipstick in Belle:
Avril tends to pair her heavier eye makeup with a softer lip so I chose this lipstick by Seventeen as it offers a sheer pink colour to the tips which gives the impression that you’re wearing a clear lip gloss or a lip balm. I love this lipstick for day wear and I do feel that it polishes off this look.

That completes this look if you enjoyed it please hit the like button and if you’re not already following my blog please feel free to do so, it’ll make me happy 🙂 Let me know in the comments what you think of this look and i there’s any looks you’d like me to create.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Makeup Tutorials, Wearable Makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

