Rimmel London Lasting Finish Lipstick in Alarm Review

I have to say I’m incredibly fussy when it comes to Rimmel London’s lipsticks. I love the moisture renewal range finding them comfortable to wear and in a range of colours but I found the Kate Moss lipsticks (namely the lasting finish ones) particularly lacking with them feathering, smudging and bleeding on me. Rachel had a lipstick from their original Lasting Finish range so I figured I’d give it a go, here’s my thoughts.
lipstick
I have to admit I’m not a fan of the packaging it just screams boring to me unfortunately. We all know that it’s more important about the product itself but this just doesn’t jump out at me, especially compared to the purple packaging of the Moisture Renew Lipsticks and lipstick packaging from other brands. I’m not sure how much Rachel paid for this lipstick but I’ve found it retailing in Superdrug for £4.99.
swatch
Apologies for the blurriness but you get the general colour from this swatch. This shade is a true red that’s neither pink or orange toned but very true red, I know that sounds a bit daft but what I mean is that this has no undertones, on me it looks just like a bright red and makes my teeth look whiter.

This did go onto the lips easily and it has the same sweet and spicy scent of the rest of the Rimmel London lipsticks, I did find application easy and this didn’t seem to smudge or bleed which was a bonus, however, it was the longevity that I really wanted to test.on me
I put this on around half twelve and then waited until half two, up until then I’d say it lasted pretty well, it survived food, drink and kissing (not necessary but any excuse to kiss my boyfriend) it did leave kiss marks but didn’t completely smudge away, all the way through it felt satin on the lips.

Sadly though this didn’t stay on all day after those two hours this did come off pretty quickly and definitely didn’t last the full eight hours that Rimmel London claim, at that point I wasn’t eating, drinking or kissing, and I found that this didn’t fade evenly and when it did fade my lips looked dry and patchy afterwards.
faded
(Yeowch, see what I mean?)
on
Overall I didn’t really rate this, I’ve tried a lot of red lipsticks and my two favourite lip products are both by budget beauty brands and last much longer and wear better than this, unfortunately the relationship between myself and the Rimmel London Lasting Finish Lipsticks is not meant to be, but I’m okay with that. Personally I wouldn’t recommend or repurchase but that’s just me.

The Rimmel London Lasting Finish Lipstick in Alarm is available here for £4.99.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried any of the Lasting Finish lipsticks from Rimmel London and what your thoughts were, also feel free to follow my blog if you’re not already.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

