Shay and Blue Atropa Belladonna Eau De Parfum Review

I may not have mentioned this on my blog before but I have Italian heritage within my family so when I received this Shay ans Blue perfume in a perfume box and discovered that it was called Atropa Belladonna – Italian for Beautiful Lady, I was pretty excited to give it a go. Most of you will know that I don’t tend to be a fan of sophisticated scents and this is marketed as a chypre so I have to say I was a little wary but here’s my thoughts…
shay and blue
I think that Shay and Blue really have put a lot of thought into their branding. I have the little sample bottle but this is also an image of the full sized version. The blue emphasises the brand name but what I also love is the shape of the lid and the combination of gold and blue which reminds me of roman art and architecture. This sample came in a perfume box from The Perfume Society but this is a higher end fragrance with a mid range price off £30.00 for 30ml at Harvey Nichols costing a pound per ml.

The perfume is described by Shay and Blue as:
“The bewitching Atropa Belladonna, Italian for ‘Beautiful Lady’, is also known as deadly nightshade. This rare plant was ingested by seventeenth century Venetians for its potent cosmetic effect – its natural toxins dilated the pupils, giving its subject a deadly, hallucinogenic beauty. Heady. Mesmerising. Beware of overdose.”

With this scent Shay and Blue promise a heady and mesmerising effect from this potent scent and I have to say it all sounds very artistic and beautiful. As I mentioned earlier this is a Chypre scent and the perfume notes are as follows:
Top Notes: Berries, Cassis Liqueur 
Heart Notes: White Narcissus, Grasse Jasmine
Base Notes: Bourbon Vanilla, Sandalwood, Patchouli

In all honesty I wasn’t sure what I was going to think of this scent as it contains some of my favourite and hated perfume notes, I do adore berry scents especially those containing vanilla and sandalwood but I tend to dislike cassis and I’m definitely not a fan of patchouli so I was surprised by this.

To me the scent opens up relatively fresh with  a floral undertone to it, to me I can smell the florals when I first spray this but I can’t really smell the berries, I think though that the fruit within this scent elevate the florals to prevent them from being too cloying which stops me from disliking this scent.

I’ve also found that as this scent unfolds to me it has a distinct powdery scent similar to baby powder which I’m pretty sure is the heart of white narcissus and jasmine combined with the sweetness of vanilla and sandalwood. I can see how this is described as a chypre because it’s not sickly sweet or floral but transitions into something else entirely that has an edge of smokiness which I actually really love.

I’ve also found that this lasts really well on my wrists, I only need one or two sprays on my pulse points for this scent to last a good few hours, it’s neither overwhelming or too light and I have to say this is the first chypre that I’ve really fallen for. So there we have it, Shay and Blue have really managed to impress me apparently.

Overall, I do like this scent it’s different, it’s quirky and to me it lives up to its name. I would repurchase this but in terms of recommendations I’d say that you really have to smell it for yourself to see if it works for you. I however, remain a fan.

The Shay and Blue Atropa Belladonna Eau De Parfum is available here for £30.00.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know if you have tried any Shay and Blue fragrances or what scents I should try next, also feel free to follow my blog if you’re not already.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Body and Fragrance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

