Liz Earle Botanical Essence No15 EDP Review

I still have a box full of perfume samples and despite some people thinking that a sample isn’t enough to review a scent I disagree (dependent on the sample) to me, a small vial of the perfume can be a really good indicator as to whether I will like or dislike a scent, and seeing as I’m on a bit of a quest to try new scents it’s quite helpful. Today I have for you the Liz Earle Botanical Essence No15 for you, it is quite a popular scent for lovers of oriental fragrance and I’ve been trialling it this past week. Please take into account though that everyone’s tastes are different so what may not work for me may work for you.
scent
So this is the little sample vial, I know it doesn’t give you an indication of the bottle but the bottle is a large beige rectangular bottle with the name of the fragrance and the Liz Earle logo on it for you.

The number fifteen for this perfume is significant in the fact that this “modern, fresh oriental scent” contains fifteen botanical ingredients as it is inspired by the aromas of the world. What I can tell you is that this scent is multi layered in the fact that it changes and adapts through the day to almost offer three different scents dependent on your body chemistry. The fifteen botanicals included are: pink pepper, cinnamon, elemi, bergamot, clove, damasc rose, cedar, patchouli, cypriol, sandalwood, vetiver, guaiac wood, benzoin, tonka bean and bourbon vanilla.

What is particularly interesting is that these notes are very different, cinnamon adds a spicy touch where as rose and patchouli add a heavier floral scent, the zest of the Cypriol oil contrasts with the sweetness of benzoin, tonka bean and bourbon vanilla, so this scent effectively is a medley of scents combined for one unique scent. Sounds pretty intriguing right? The notes are as follows:

Top Notes:  Pink Pepper, Cinnamon, Elemis, Bergamot, Clove
Heart Notes: Damasc Rose, Cedar, Patchouli, Sandalwood and Vetiver

Base Notes: Guaiac Wood, Benzoin, Tonka Bean and Bourbon Vanilla

Upon first application this smelled heavily floral and in particular it made me think of white florals. I wasn’t a fan of the top notes and couldn’t really detect the cinnamon, to me this was pure floral which I found quite cloying.

Throughout this day as the heart notes kicked in this started to smell a little more fresh or as I would describe “green” I’m not a fan of Patchouli but the fresh scent isn’t so much citrus but more of an earthy smell, great for lovers of woody scents.

By the end of the day this is quite sweet, unfortunately for me it’s sickly sweet which I think is because of the floral notes blending with the sweet notes to create a very sickly sweet scent, great if you love flowers, not so great if you do not.

Personally I wasn’t a fan of this, I felt like this was a bit too much for me and a little heavy, it didn’t smell dated but the florals were way too heavy for me, I personally prefer something a little more youthful or more soft and delicate, I wouldn’t describe this as a harsh scent but I would say that in can be quite overwhelming if it isn’t your scent of choice.

Overall it’s an interesting scent, the scent is not for me but I can see the appeal of the different layers of scent unfolding and I think that oriental lovers will really enjoy this scent, for me though I’ll stick to something a little more basic.

The Liz Earle Botanical Essence No15 is available here for £49.00 for 50ml.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if the sound of this scent intrigues you and what some of your favourite scents are.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Body and Fragrance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

