Rimmel London Stay Matte Foundation Review

I’ve finally tried all of the foundations by Rimmel London and this is the Stay Matte, the only one I hadn’t yet given a go. I have to say I used to adore high coverage matte products but these days I’m much more of a light to medium coverage, dewy skin kind of gal, nevertheless this has definitely impressed me here’s my thoughts.
stay matte
I had a little sample sachet of this to try and as you can see the packaging image is on the front. I tend to prefer foundations with a pump simply because I find they tend to hold more product and last longer but I’m all for a squeezy tube as well and at least you can get out a lot of product from this. The price of this foundation is £5.99 which is the cheapest of their foundations (excluded the BB Creams).

There’s six shades of this foundation available the lightest being porcelain which is great for cool toned skin that’s very pale, and the darkest being natural beige which unfortunately won’t be dark enough for deep complexions, I have the shade Ivory which is my usual shade in a Rimmel foundation anyway dependent on which foundation it is.

Before I start picking apart the different elements to this product here’s a product description for you:
” Feather light, liquid mousse blends flawlessly for natural-looking, all day shine control. Silky smooth formula leaves a perfectly matte, baby-soft finish. Lightweight texture won’t feel heavy of greasy. Minimises the appearance of pores. Oil free.”

Starting with the texture of this product this does feel quite thick like a mousse foundation so I always apply these with my fingers or a sponge, for this foundation I opted to use my fingers to gently warm the product and I found that using my fingers worked well for the texture. To me this is a full coverage foundation and has the highest coverage of all of the foundations I have found to date, it doesn’t feel greasy but I did find this to feel a little heavy so I don’t agree with the lightweight texture claim, having said that it’s not the heaviest I’ve ever used so I’d say that it is on the lighter side of a mousse texture.

The formula was actually pretty smooth and blended into the skin however, upon first application it is quite thick until you smooth it out wit your fingers, I used this without primer but I get the feeling that primer would ball up under this. It adhered well to the skin concealing everything I needed to and it did fill in pores without looking cakey, I think I’d use this in summer when my skin is on the oilier side and I wouldn’t use a primer or concealer, I did find that despite my skin being dry at the moment it didn’t cling to any dry patches.

on me
The shade for me is perfect for when my skin is a little darker (and by little I mean ever so slightly – probably not worth going darker with my foundation) as you can see in this photo, my face is matte and flawless looking but without being dead looking, I did like that this foundation still allows a slight glow through so it doesn’t look unnatural. The lack of oil is appreciated as for those with oily skin the last thing you want is any silicones or oils on the skin.

Overall I was pleasantly surprised, I didn’t think I’d like this but I’m pretty impressed it does what I’d expect a decent matte foundation to do and it doesn’t have any major downsides. I don’t think I’d use this as an everyday foundation but I would use it if my skin was particularly bad and I think I may pick up a full sized tube when the weather warms up and see how it fares. I would recommend this to those with oily skin who find that their base wears away through the day as I didn’t need powder with this.

The Rimmel London Stay Matte Foundation is available here for £5.99.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried this or how you think it looks on my skin. If you’re not already following please feel free to do so, so I can check out your blogs.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Beauty on a Budget, Face and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

