High Street Heaven – Bright and Bold Tutorial

This is the final installment in my drugstore makeup tutorial series and I really wanted to push the boat out for this one so I’ve created a really bold makeup tutorial that I hope you guys will love, I’m going to jump straight into it so I hope you all enjoy it!
finished look
Eye Makeup
eye makeup
The first thing I did was apply eye primer and I used the MUA Pro Prime Perfect Eye Primer to ensure that the eyeshadow would be as vibrant and as long lasting as possible. I then used the MUA Poptastic Palette for all of the eyeshadows. I started with the shade Jade Jazz which is a beautiful green and really packed that onto the lid making sure to layer it up for maximum intensity, I then went over this with the shade Atomic Aqua and blended for this gorgeous aqua colour. Next I moved onto applying eyeshadow into the crease, I have hooded eyes so I always apply eyeshadow in a semi circle shape and work it up to showcase the colours and to add definition. I applied Sonic Blue and built this up before going in with Crystal Blue I then blended the shades together and blended the blue with the aqua for a gradient effect. I then wanted a hint of purple so I applied Pizzaz Purple above my crease leaving a gap between that and my browbone, I then blended this down with the blue to merge the shades. Finally I took the shade Ume Sizzle and applied this up to my brow bone, this came out a lot more pigmented than expected so I really blended this for a subtle highlight.

Onto the lower half of of the eye now and I wanted to use warmer tones, I used the Real Techniques Silicone Liner Brush to apply the shadows here so I could get maximum precision, it would have probably looked better if I had applied the shadows wet but I applied them dry. Before that though I applied the Rimmel London Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Liner in Black to my tightline and then used the same eyeliner but in the Nude shade to my waterline. For the shadows here I started by applying Shocking Pink to the inner corners and working outwards, I then switched to Gold Mine to add more warmth and then I finished the waterline and outer corner with Cherry Sour, I flicked this shadow to create a small but subtle wing. Finally I applied the Maybelline Great Lash Mascara which is perfect for looks like this as it doesn’t transfer and the brush is small and precise, I used this mascara on both my upper and lower lashes, then filled in my brows with the L’oreal Brow Artiste in Dark Brunette.

Face Makeup
I knew that I was also going to rock a bold lip so I decided to keep my base makeup minimal and neutral to prevent a clownish look. I started by applying my L’oreal True Match Foundation (I’m the shade N1) to my face then went in with my Maybelline Instant Eye Eraser concealer under my eyes using the Real Techniques Detailer Brush to prevent the eye makeup form smudging. Next I lightly applied the Astor Deluxe Bronzer in 002 Safari Fever to the hollows of my cheeks and then used the MUA Undress Your Skin Highlighting Powder in Iridescent Gold to my cheekbones. I skipped blusher and then set my makeup with a very light dusting of the Max Factor Creme Puff Powder.

Lip Makeup
I did toy with the idea of using more of a neutral lip colour but I wanted this look to be really bold so I used the Barry M Lipstick in Genie it’s a green lipstick that supposedly adjusts to the PH balance of your lips and creates a bespoke shade of pink. On me it’s really bold so it was perfect for this look.

That concludes this tutorial, if you enjoyed this post please hit the like button and feel free to let me know in the comments what you think of this look, also, if you’re not following my blog alreayd feel free to do so for more posts like this plus reviews.

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Crazy/Wacky Makeup, Makeup Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

