Mary Greenwell Plum EDT Review

Although I’m quite particular with perfumes and tend to stick with perfumes that fit nicely into the fruity/sweet category, I’m always open to trying new scents as you never know when something might unexpectedly take your fancy. A while ago I purchased a fragrance box and received a sample of Mary Greenwell’s Plum Eau De Toilette, although it was a brand I hadn’t heard of before with a whole new scent category that I’m not fully acquainted with (chypre) I decided to give it a go here’s my thoughts.
plum description
The sample bottle is relatively simple, like most samples it’s simply a tube but rather than a nozzle there’s a lid that you pull out to use. The bottle of the full sized perfume isn’t really my style, whereas I like the pink box (although surely a plum toned box would be more fitting?) the large yellow liquid in a clear bottle with the large yellow bauble of a lid isn’t really for me. This is quite an expensive perfume.
plum packaging

This perfume is described as a modern chypre and combines citrus notes with florals and a woody and musky base, the perfume notes are as follows:
Top Notes: Bergamot, Amalfi Lemon, Peach, Blackcurrant and Plum
Heart Notes: Jasmine, African Orange Flower, Gardenia, Tuberose and Rose
Base Notes: Musk, Sandalwood, Patchouli, Oak Moss and Amber

For me this is quite a mixed bag, there’s a variety of notes ranging from fruity, to floral, to sweet to woody. I do quite like sandalwood and amber for a sweet base, and I love peaches but I’m really not a fan of patchouli, gardenia or tuberose or rose, so I wasn’t sure what to expect, I did try the scent before I read the notes so I wouldn’t be influenced by anything I had read.

Starting with the notes I definitely didn’t smell, I couldn’t smell any peach, nor could I really smell any plum, I didn’t smell amber, sandalwood, musk or patchouli either so this is both a positive and negative but left me with a few fragrance notes that are nothing really special to me.

Upon first application this did smell slightly fruity but throughout was dominated by the white florals, I also found that this started out very heavy (a couple of drops smelled very strong to me) but when it reached dry down it faded into nothingness, which was a bit disappointed, I think a more subtle opening and more longevity would have probably worked better.

For me the scent screamed old fashioned, it wasn’t old fashioned in terms of the kind of rose or lavender sort of scents but it smelled very much like one of the old classic power perfumes that gave everyone a headache, was hugely popular decades ago and ultimately was too strong, for me despite being described as a “modern chypre” it didn’t smell very modern to me at all.

Overall I’m not a fan which is kind of a relief simply because this is one expensive perfume with the 50-100ml priced at £95.00 from Harrods. I wouldn’t recommend or purchase the full size, I’d like to leave a link but it’s very hard to find and it’s sold out from everywhere. You can find this at Harrods though I’m not sure when it will be back in stock.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button and feel free to follow if you’re not already. Let me know in the comments if you are a fan of the chypre family, if you have tried this scent and what your favourite fragrance family is.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Body and Fragrance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mary Greenwell Plum EDT Review

  1. rachelhailesx says:

    I’m sorry that you didn’t like this perfume. The notes sounded so promising too! xxx

Leave a Reply

