High Street Heaven – Smoky Tutorial

I’ve been enjoying my High Street Heaven series featuring different looks using drugstore and high street makeup only, so I thought that to go with my natural look I’d this time create a smoky look. I hope that you like it!
smoky look
(Ignore the hair it was still wet from the shower!)
Eye Makeup
I always start with eye makeup because I feel that if I don’t then I’ll smear my face makeup everywhere, I decided to use eyeshadows to create a smoky look. To start with I used the Rimmel London Glam Eyes Quad Eyeshadow in 001 Smoky Noir to create the smoky eye. I used a medium grey eyeshadow with a matte finish across my lids at first and then used a matte black eyeshadow in my crease. It may sound scary using a black eyeshadow but if it’s a softer shade it works nicely, if you’re using a very pigmented eyeshadow then I’d recommend using a very light hand, there’s a difference between smoky and the *I’ve been crying in the rain and look like a state” look if you guys know what I mean. Next up was the blend like crazy before pressing a silver shadow into the centre of my lids, and a pale silver eyeshadow into the inner corners before running the brush underneath my eyes. I used my 2true Flash Eyes Lengthening Mascara on my upper and lower lashes which 2true sent me a while ago and I’m now used up.  On my waterline I used my beloved Rimmel London Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl in Black and then on my eyebrows I used the L’oreal Brow Artiste Brow Pencil in Dark Brunette on my brows.

Face Makeup
I’ve been using the same base products for a while now but they’re such a great combination! Sadly I’ve nearly used up my Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation which I love dearly, especially as it allows me to skip primer! Under my eyes I’ve been using the Maybelline Instant Eye Erase Concealer, it’s more yellow toned that I expected but works great under the eyes. My bronzer and highlighter of choice have been the Astor Safari Bronzer in 002 Safari Fever and my Topshop Glow in Polish both are great products and are a great contour and highlight duo for pale skinned gals that are affordable. I decided to try a new blusher so opted for the Makeup Revolution Vivid Blush Lacquer in Oh Boy! I have to say that this is a very bold blusher so apply with a light hand and be sure to add a dab of foundation over the top to prevent it from being too vivid. Finally I used my holy grail powder the Max Factor Pressed Powder to set my makeup.

Lips
For my lips I decided to opt for a gloss and this one is probably my all time favourite lip gloss and that’s the Maybelline Colour Sensational Lipgloss in Stellar Berry, it’s a beautiful berry shade that looks lovely and smells lovely (like the strawberry quality street).

That concludes this tutorial, if you enjoyed this post hit the like button, let me know in the comments what you think of this look and feel free to follow if you aren’t already.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Makeup Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.