Makeup Revolution Lip Lava in Shockwave Review

I reviewed the Makeup Revolution Lip Lava in Firestorm not too long ago so I thought that it would be fun this time to review the other shade which I picked up which is Shockwave. Before I begin this review I am aware that a lot of the Makeup Revolution stuff that I have reviewed so far has been rather negative but I would like to point out that this doesn’t mean I don’t like the brand. Although I’ve not got round to reviewing them yet I have tried some eyeshadows and face products which are amazing quality so please bear that in mind! Now let’s get started.

The product comes in this little boxes which I personally love, the box is very pretty I love the cursive font and the cute packaging plus I know that the product won’t leak. The shade Shockwave is emphasised by the colour of the box, this product cost me £2.99.

The Makeup Revolution Lip Lavas are from the I Love Makeup range and are essentially a pigmented liquid lipstick, they are described on the official website as follows:
“We are unleashing out most impactful lip product. Introducing the Lip Lava. Intense lipstick formula, melted to create our most impactful gloss. Smooth and comfortable wear, with long lasting formula with Vitamin E. Available in 5 shades.”
tube
The application of these is relatively easy, similar to the Clarins Instant Light Lip Perfectors and the Too Faced Melted Kisses the product is in a squeezy tube which then dispenses out of the top with a sponge tip applicator. The sponge tip is useful for larger surface areas but precision can be quite tricky without a lip brush.
swatch
The colour of this product is absolutely gorgeous, it’s a blue toned pink which is absolutely stunning and not too dissimilar to Candy Yum Yum from MAC, it does have a glossy sheen to it and the shade is one that I absolutely adore, what lets this product down is the formula.

Sadly the formula just doesn’t work for me, this feels thick on the lips and doesn’t settle down or absorb but more sits on the lips quite heavily. It can smudge although it doesn’t bleed much but it does feel uncomfortable due to the thickness of the product.

This is a real shame because a thinner formula would be perfect, I’d also love it if the shade dried down to a soft satin finish or a matte finish rather then just sitting there I think this would also work as a stain.

Unfortunately I’m not keen on this product and it has disappointed me because I was hoping to have found a dupe for the Too Faced Melted Kisses but sadly it’s not quite there. Love the colour and finish just not the formula, so I wouldn’t repurchase or recommend.

The Makeup Revolution I Love Makeup Lip Lavas are available here for £2.99.

I hope hat you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments what you think of this shade, what you verdict is on thick formulas for lip products and if you have tried these or the Too Faced Melted Lipsticks.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Makeup Revolution Lip Lava in Shockwave Review

  1. bohocharming says:

    I agree the Eyeshadow Palletes are Gorgeous and im thinking about getting the lip lavas. Shockwave is such a pretty colour xx great post

Leave a Reply

