Best in Beauty 2015

It’s the end of another year and the last day of December which can only mean three things. First up it’s New Years Eve, I’m not a huge fan of New Year if I’m completely honest but plenty of people celebrate it so I wish you all a Happy New Year Health and Happiness. Secondly is a personal milestone and that is the four year anniversary of myself and my boyfriend. I’m extremely happy to announce this and it’s nice to put it into words onto here. Finally for all you beauty lovers out there is my annual favourites, yay! Here’s the products that have really rocked this year for me.
Disclaimer – Some categories are  missed out such as Blusher and Lipstick that’s because I’ve not found one that blew me away enough to be a favourite this year.

BEST PRIMER: Gosh Velvet Touch Line Perfector
I absolutely fell in love with this primer this year and it’s officially my all time favourite primer to date, this provides a stunning base and is incredibly easy to work with and friendly on the skin.

BEST FOUNDATION: Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation
This foundation honestly made my year and I worked through almost two bottles of it, this is amazing for pale skin and teamed with my favourite tool (mentioned down below) this honestly has kept my skin looking dewy and flawless.

BEST CONCEALER: Collection Lasting Finish Ultimate Wear Concealer
There’s been a few close runners up but ultimately this has been my favourite concealer for the second year in a row, great coverage, works well under my eyes and on blemishes and budget friendly to boots. Love this.

BEST BRONZER: Urban Decay BB Bronzing Balm
I only has a sample of this but it was my first time trying liquid bronzer and it was absolutely beautiful, I’ll definitely be looking to pick this up and I was very impressed, it made contouring incredibly easy.

BEST HIGHLIGHTER: Topshop Glow in Polish
As soon as I tried this I fell head over heels in love with it and I’ve been using it obsessively since, this is a beautiful highlighting product and it’s so budget friendly, pale girls, you need this in your life!

BEST POWDER: Max Factor Creme Puff Face Powder
This year I found my holy grail powder and it is this. This sets my makeup, increases longevity, prevents shine, doesn’t wear away and still helps me to keep that healthy glow, it’s a whole lot of claims right there but truly this is fab.

BEST EYESHADOW PALETTE: Urban Decay Naked Palette and Urban Decay Vice 3 Palette
I’m yet to review either of these but I’ve been giving them a good go and oh holy lord these are goooood. The Naked Palette has a perfect selection of shades and high quality eyeshadows that really accentuate my skintone. The Vice 3 Palette is something I picked up with birthday money in January last year and I absolutely adore it, both are beautiful palettes.

BEST CREAM EYESHADOW: Illamasqua Vintage Metallix in Courtier
I received this last year as a Christmas gift and it’s so beautiful, this provides a sheer was of nude colour and plenty of shimmer onto the lids and looks incredibly sophisticated and classy, it truly is a joy to use and I adore it.

BEST MASCARA: Maybelline Great Lash Mascara
I didn’t originally have a favourite mascara this year until I tried this but it really did blow me away, a beautiful mascara that lengthens, volumises and separates, plus it’s budget friendly and a little goes a long way.

BEST EYELINER: Rimmel London Scandaleyes Kohl Eyeliner in Nude
This has been my go-to liner this year and is a staple product in my makeup routine, this really is lovely – a creamy eyeliner that brightens my eyes and makes me look rejuvenated and refreshed with one single swipe.

BEST BROW PRODUCT: Sleek Brow Kit in Dark
I’ve tried plenty of great brow products this year but this Sleek product really has stolen my heart and I’ve nearly used up all of the wax! This really helps me t fill in and shape my brows and it’s very versatile you can use small amounts for a more natural look or fill in heavily for them huge brows.

BEST LIP LACQUER: 2true 8 Hour Power Lip Colour in Angeline*
This was sent to me earlier this year from 2true and I didn’t have high expectations but this is absolutely amazing for a bold red lip. This applies like a gloss settles down into a demi-matte red and then stays in place all year I’ll be getting plenty of use out of it and have been loving it for the festive season.

BEST LIP BALM: Maybelline Baby Lips Electro in Pink Shock
Last year it was the original Baby Lips range that I coveted but this year the release of the Electro range got me super excited and I’ve very nearly used up this lip balm in it’s entirety. This provides moisture, colour and a lovely scent all encased in the cutest little twist up packaging.

BEST NAIL POLISHES: Illamasqua Nail Polish in Viridian and Maybelline Forever Strong Superstay 7 Day Gel Nail Colour in Uptown Blue
Two polishes really spoke to me this year and I’m very impressed. I’m yet to review the Illamasqua polish but trust me when I say that it’s a rick deep green shade that looks absolutely gorgeous on the fingers and the toes in the colder months. The Maybelline Polish has exploded into the bloggersphere this year and for good reason, longlasting pastel gel colour that has a high shine finish on the nails, what’s not to like?

BEST FALSE NAILS: Primark Snowflake Design Nails
I’m thoroughly impressed by these and they actually have surpassed my love for Elegant Touch. These are beautiful, extremely budget friendly at only a pound per box and they have the most wonderful longevity. I was really blown away by these.

BEST CLEANSER: Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser
I finally got my hands on this from Rachel as a Christmas present and boy did it deliver. This left my skin radiant, beautifully soft and smooth and was an absolute treat to use, very impressive and I really need another one of these, a great introduction to Liz Earle.

BEST SERUM/FACIAL OIL: Sarah Chapman Skinesis Overnight Facial
I received a sample of this in a perfume box and I am very impressed, this literally goes onto my skin the night before and when I wake p my skin looks and feels better like I’ve had a proper facial. This stuff is honestly amazing.

BEST FACE MASK: Balance Me Radiance Face Mask
This is the first product I’ve tried by Balance Me and it impressed me so much that I’m now really excited to try more from the brand. I’m not exactly sure how this herbal scented mask works its magic but it brings my skin to life whilst blurring blemishes.

BEST PERFUME: Versace Bright Crystal Absolu
I’ve tried so many amazing perfumes this year that it was really hard to pick one but this one is that cut above the rest. My boyfriend purchased this for me as an anniversary gift last year and I absolutely love it. This smells incredibly, fruity, sweet and musky and I always receive compliments when I wear it.

BEST BODY SPRAY: Boots Paradise Shores
I use body spray regularly to freshen up and I discovered the Boots Paradise Shores Body Spray this year and literally went through around four cans of this. Fruity and uplifting with sweet undertones this kept me fresh all year round.

BEST BODY WASH: Soap and Glory Whipped Clean Shower Butter
I love showers and this year I was introduced to the Soap and Glory Whipped Clean Shower Butter, this literally smells like a cake, leaves my skin soft and moisturised and a little really does go a long way, perfect for a bit of indulgence.

BEST BODY LOTION/BUTTER: Vera Wang Princess Satiny Body Lotion
Had I not received this free with the Vera Wang Princess Perfume Gift Set I’d never have tried this but I’m so glad that I did because honestly the lotion smelled amazing and was one of the nicest if not the nicest body moisturiser I’ve ever used. Newsflash the body exfoliator is also incredibly and award worthy.

BEST HAND CREAM: L’Occitane Amande Milk Hand Cream
This year was the year I finally got into hand cream and this one by LO’ccitane is beautiful. I had a small sample of this and used the entire thing up the milk really noujrished my hands and the almond scent was to die for.

BEST SHAMPOO AND CONDITIONER: Garnier Ultimate Blends The Strength Restorer Shampoo and Conditioner
I didn’t have this category but I couldn’t do a yearly roundup without mentioning the shampoo and conditioner which blew me away this year. This smells gorgeous and both products leave my hair feeling soft, silky, shiny, smooth and healthy.

BEST HAIR TREATMENT: Athena’s Treasures Bio Olive and Silk Proteins Hair Mask
This was all the wa from Greece and Rachel brought it back for me when she went on holiday there. This is really lovely smelling plus it leaves my hair feeling like actual silk, I adore this and I’ve still got tons left, yay!

BEST TOOL: Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge
This was the year of the sponge! I really got into using this blending sponge this year and teamed with my favorite foundation this creates a flawless finish. It’s looking very grubby now no matter how many times I was it but I still love it.

BEST CANDLE: Yankee Candle in Vineyard, Granny Smith Apples
Finally are two of my favourite candles this year that I could not get enough of. The Vineyard scent is exactly like grapes and is a scent that I’m 99% certain that I will never tire of. The Granny Smith Apples is a newer scent that I’ve been using for the second half of the year and this is so yummy and comforting smelling exactly like mouthwatering apples, a truly luscious scent.

That concludes my annual favourites, if you enjoyed this post please hit the like button and let me know in the comments what your yearly favourites are.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

 

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Favourites and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

