Maybelline Great Lash Mascara in Blackest Black Review

Today’s review is on a product that I didn’t like when I first tried it, but you all know that first impressions can be wrong and I have to say I’ve actually grown to really like this, here’s my thoughts.
mascara
Starting with the packaging and I absolutely bloomin’ love the retro colours in my opinion it’s the best packaged mascara from Maybelline and the retro feel is spot on especially considering that this is somewhat of an iconic mascara and has been a cult product for many years. This only costs £4.99 which is indefinitely a budget mascara.
wand
Initially I didn’t like the wand, this is fiber and I often prefer plastic brushes as they coat my lashes from root to tip, I also had concerns about the small sizing of the brush and didn’t think that it would be enough to use in a morning, I applied this relatively quickly at first and thought that it was too time consuming and didn’t really do much for my lashes as I like volume and separation, but oh how wrong I was.
without mascara
This is a snapshot of my lashes before applying the mascara and as you can see they’re quite short and stubby, my hooded eyes also means that transfer is often a problem. I gave ths another crack though and it blew me away.

First of all I found that there was no transfer, I also found that when I wiggled the brush a bit more it really did coat my lashes from root to tip and added length, volume and separation without clumping.
mascara on me
There’s a teeny bit of transfer where I slipped initially with the wand but other that look at my lashes! I’d like to point out that I also have no eyeliner on and no eye makeup on other than this mascara and it’s done a fab job of not only making my lashes look amazing but also for getting right in there at the roots saving me a job with eyeliner.

Overall, I’m super impressed, I like my lashes to be dramatic and this does everything I need it do and more, it’s definitely an underdog product sitting quietly on the shelves but don’t underestimate this it truly is phenomenal I’d definitely repurchase and recommend.

The Maybelline Great Lash Mascara in Blackest Black is available here for £4.99.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button and let me know in the comments if you have tried this mascara and if not would you give it a go?

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Beauty on a Budget, Eyes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

