Maybelline Forever Strong Superstay 7 Day Gel Nail Color in Surreal

After banging on about the Barry M Gelly Hi Shine Nail Paints for- well forever really, I thought that I’d share with you some polishes from a different range that I’ve been falling for pretty quickly. The range in question is the Maybelline Forever Strong Superstay 7 Day Gel Nail Colors and I’ve building up a small collection of shades. I’ve previously mentioned Uptown Blue which seems to be everyone’s favourite but the colour that I’m loving at the moment is Surreal, so here it is.

Disclaimer: At the time of writing this the weather was diabolical and dark all day so apologies for the blurred and dark photos this polish is much lighter in colour.
polish

These nail polishes are housed in a wide, fat bottle which I do like but can make them difficult to store when comparing them to the usual square bottles of nail polish. These polishes have a wide brush making it easy to coat your nails in one go and retail for £4.49 each which is 50p more than the Gelly Hi Shine Nail Paints by Barry M.
swatch
The colour Surreal is absolutely gorgeous and it is a standout colour in my collection with nothing else really coming close to the shade of it, I would describe the shade as a bluey purple, think of a lavender shade with a bit more blue in it and that’s what you have, it’s very flattering and quite unusual.

The wide brush is prevalent in this polish which I’m starting to really like, originally I preferred the thinner brushes but now that I’ve gotten used to these fatter brushes I do prefer working with them as they make my nail polish apply much quicker and easier.
after a week
(After a week)
I do feel like the formula with this polish is a little watery, the range seems to be slightly inconsistent from what I’ve tried so far with Uptown Blue being a thick creamy formula and this being more watery. This did require three coats for maximum opacity and neatness, but I can forgive that because of the beautiful colour. If you are one of those people who hates painting your nails though this could be an issue.

I don’t think that these last a full seven days if I’m honest but they do last three days roughly before chipping without a top coat which is pretty darn good! If you are looking for a longwearing polish then I would recommend this range simply because they do stick around for longer than the average polish.

Overall, I do like this I just wish that the formula was a little thicker to save on coats but apart from that the shade and longevity is fab and I would recommend and probably repurchase.

The Maybelline Forever Strong Super Stay 7 Day Gel Nail Color in Surreal is available here for £4.49.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried any of these polishes and what your thoughts are.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Nails and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

