Makeup Revolution Atomic Lipstick in Serpent

Before I start this post I would like to say that I do like Makeup Revolution as a brand, their eyeshadows are excellent, and I picked up tons of products by them to try, it just so happens that the ones I’ve picked to try first happen to be duds. I was really excited when I saw this lipstick, I don’t own a dark green, so I was super happy to try this however, it’s really disappointed me, here’s why.
Lipstick in Serpent
(I did not take this photo copyright and credit goes to those at Superdrug)

This is the lipstick in question and as you can see it’s a beautiful dark green shade which I thought would look great paired with pale skin and dark eye makeup, especially for Autumn and Winter. In terms of the packaging I’m not really bowled over, I find the plastic and gold printed writing a little tacky/cheap looking in all honesty, I can’t complain about the price however as this only cost a pound.

I did expect this lipstick to struggle in terms of pigmentation but I am pleased to say that although it’s not the best in the world it does suffice for the shade. If I swatch this (which I haven’t done as I’ve passed this onto a friend) I can get a lovely dark green shade, however, the formula of this product lets it down.

Years ago I didn’t have very high expectations of budget friendly makeup, many brands that sold products near the one pound mark offered products that lacked in quality, poor formulas that didn’t wear well or stay on was a huge problem, but over the years brands such as MUA and of course Makeup Revolution have set the bar high providing the masses with beauty products that are high in quality for low prices, so I did have higher than average expectations for this formula.
on me
As you can see from this photo of me wearing the lipstick there is patchiness which is purely due to the formula. When I applied this I had hoped for a creamy lipstick and whereas there is not drag this feels very greasy and slippy and definitely slips and slides on the lips which is a real shame.

As a result I find this hard to work with, and although it hasn’t changed my opinion of the brand I do feel like this product is disappointing and it has put me off other shades within this range.

Overall, I am disappointed, Makeup Revolution have a large selection of products but the last two I’ve reviewed have highlighted an area of concern, which is never to focus on quantity over quality, having said that I do have some excellent products to mention by this brand on here, but this sadly was a miss, I wouldn’t recommend or repurchase.

The Makeup Revolution Atomic Lipstick in Serpent is available here for £1.00.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments what you think of Makeup Revolution as a brand, and if you have been disappointed by any products by any brands recently.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

