Blackout – The Best and Worst of Black Makeup

It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these themed posts and I felt like one was overdue, so today here we have my roundup of some of the best and worst black makeup I have tried, I hope that you enjoy this post.
Disclaimer: This post contains PR Samples these are marked with an asterix, opinions are all my own.
makeup
The Best…
Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Liner in Black
I really love this gel eyeliner, yes it does end up fading like most eyelinrs but the longevity is much better than the other liners I’ve tried plus this is really pigmented, easy to work with and has a super creamy formula that glides onto the eyes. I’ve not tried the Bobbi Brown but considering this is hailed as a dupe I can definitely say that it is high quality.

Soap and Glory Thick and Fast Mascara
I haven’t used this mascara in yonks but when Rachel was using it, it brought back some nostalgic memories. This really is a brilliant mascara for thickening and volumising the lashes although onddly it works better when it dries out a little.

Rimmel London Scandaleyes Waterproof Liner in Black
I really struggle finding pencil kohls that don’t run everywhere and yet a black pencil liner is a staple. This one by Rimmel London has proved to be my favourite so far, the creamy formula glides onto the waterline and tightline (no awful scratching) plus the formula is very black and it stays in place.

L’oreal Telescopic Mascara
I couldn’t do a post on black makeup without mentioning one of my all time favourite mascaras. I was super impressed with the L’oreal Telescopic Mascara and to this day it still remains a firm favourite. This does have a plastic brush unlike the thick fibre brush of the Soap and Glory mascara but this really works to lengthen, seperate and curl.

2true Pro Felt Tip Liner *
I still haven’t found my perfect felt tip liner but this one is one of the best I’ve tried. With it’s ultra black formula, tapered yet slightly flexible tip and long wear this actually is one of my all time faves.

The Worst…
Maybelline Colour Tattoo in Timeless Black
When I first heard about these I was so excited as I love cream eyeshadows but these really failed to live up to the hype. This shade dried out really quickly and was slippery on the eyes plus the formula was really crumbly.

Rimmel London Lasting Finish Nail Polish in Black Cab
I don’t think it’s particularly difficult to make a decent black nail polish, I’ve literally used unbranded ones before and they’re been fine yet this was really disappointed. The formula was watery, these needed tons of coats, didn’t have an even finish and it chipped really quickly.

Rimmel London Wonderfull Wake Me Up Mascara
I’ve tried a lot of mascaras in my time and I have to say this is one of the worst. The formula is incredibly wet and ends up running and smudging, plus it’s so wet that it clumps the lashes together.

L’oreal Contour Kohl in Black
This was another black liner, it wasn’t terrible but compared to some others that I’ve tried this wasn’t great either, this did wear away, run and smudge quite easily – not something I want on my eyes.

Collection Extreme Felt Tip Liner in Black
This gets rave reviews and admittedly upon first application it’s good but then the formula turns really watery really quickly, plus the tip ends up starting to splay even if you don’t press on very hard. I was pretty disappointed with this.

That rounds up my best and worst of black makeup, if you enjoyed this post please hit the like button and let me know in the comments if you have tried any of these products or what your best and worst black makeup items are.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

 

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

