Bourjois Color Edition 24hr Eyeshadow in Petale De Glace Review

I love a good cream eyeshadow so when I saw these cream to powder formulas I was pretty intrigued, especially as Petale De Glace is such a beautiful colour. Originally I thought Bourjois had copied the Maybelline Colour Tattoos (which I’m not a massive fan of) but I have to say these are totally different, here’s my thoughts.
eyeshadow
So this is the eyeshadow and one of these eyeshadows will cost you £6.99 from Boots retailers. There is a total of six shades available including this shade ranging from champagnes and neutrals to darker shades such as navy and plum, for some reason I haven’t seen these stocked in Boots lately but they are available online.
inside
The shade is a cool toned, pinky champagne shade although the lighting has made it look more gold in this photo. As you can see we have a very strange formula, not quite a cream and not quite a powder but a unique hybrid.
swatch
The shadow swatches beautifully on the fingers but I have to be honest the formula doesn’t wow me. I have tried using this with my fingers and with eyeshadow brushes but it struggles to transfer onto the lid and still have a decent colour payoff, the formula I find particularly difficult, you can’t pack it on because of the texture.

This is a pretty eyeshadow don’t get me wrong, the longevity doesn’t last all day but over an eye primer this is nice alone or it makes a nice highlight for the inner corners but I have to say that the formula let’s this down, if this was a cream eyeshadow I would absolutely adore this but the powder makes this very dry almost siliconey feeling (when your fingers feel dry after) which can make it a pain to work with.
before
(Before)
after
(After)

As you can see by these photos despite the colour payoff on my finger it lookd a lot sheerer on the lid and offers a barely there finish, this is great for those who like a natural look and prefer to slap something on and go but for someone like me I much prefer a better colour payoff which sadly means that although this shade is beautiful sadly I’m left disappointed.

Overall I am disappointed with this I wouldn’t repurchase or recommend unless you are opting for a sheer look which is barely there, if only this had a nicer formula I could totally get on board but sadly it’s not quite there.

The Bourjois Color Edition 24hr Eyeshadow is available here for £6.99.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments what you think of this shadow and if you would buy it or not.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Eyes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

