Disappointing Products #3

It’s only fair to say that when trying a lot of products like I do, although you may find a lot of great products you do find your fair share of bad products and so today I thought I’d do a disappointing products post. Some of these I hated, some I initially liked and then changed my mind over time and some just didn’t work for me. Bear in mind that these are all subjective but seeing as it’s been ages since I did one of these posts and I have a huge list let’s get cracking.
Disclaimer: This is going to be a long post, so grab a snack or two and get comfy.
disappointing products

Haircare:
Lee Stafford Frizz Off Keratin Blow Dry Smooth Spray:
Considering this is just short of eleven pounds I had high expectations for this product but it did nothing for my hair. I expected this to at least add shine as well as to tame frizz if possible but it made no dent in the frizz at all and all it did was spray a random wet patch onto my hair with no added shine.
Lee Stafford My Big Fat Root Boost Spray:
I had high hopes for this as I do suffer with flat hair especially at the roots as my hair is thin and shiny but lacking in volume. This claimed to add a huge lift to the hair without stickiness but it did the opposite. I couldn’t achieve any visible lift with this and it turned my hair sticky and crispy as if I’d doused my head in cheap hairspray.
Lee Stafford Here Come the Curls Curl Management Spray:
My hair is naturally very wavy/curly so this was something I was really excited about, I thought it would be great for taming my locks but alas it was not to be. This pink, thick, gloopy product sprayed out like a gel, sprayed onto a tiny patch of hair and turned it sticky and crispy instantly. Again I wasn’t impressed.

Eye Makeup:
Essence Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner in Black:
I like to think I’m fairly good with liquid eyeliner my only qualm can be if it ever gets onto the lashes and clumps but apart from that I’m good to go. I picked up this eyeliner expecting the usual fine pointed brush only to find a sponge applicator that flopped around and made it impossible to use. I really disliked this and found it awful to manage.
Barry M Liquid Liners in Electric Blue and Pink:
Barry M had the brush down perfectly with these coloured liners but not only did these fade but they stained the lid leaving a dull blue stain that was incredibly difficult to remove. Even my best makeup removers got waterproof mascara off yet struggled with these leaving my eyes sore and red. Not a fan.
Benefit They’re Real Push Up Liner:
Somewhat of a marmite product I know that this is loved by many (see above this is subjective remember) but I wasn’t a fan, I found the formula to be crumbly and to dry out easily and I found that application was again to flexible making it difficult to keep the liner still when applying.
Mememe Dew Pot in Moonlight Mist:
For a product that looked and swatched so beautifully I was super excited with this navy cream eyeshadow but not matter how I used it this creased instantly and I could not make it work. These have since been discontinued and it’s a shame that they didn’t work as the shades were stunning.
Mememe Sleek and Chic Lengthening Mascara:
Not only was the brush standard, the formula rubbish but the wand itself snapped on this! I’m not heavy handed with mascara so I was astonished and more the disappointed with this product.
Rimmel London Wonderfull Wake Me Up Mascara:
Sis, you were right. I reviewed this recently and originally didn’t mind it but as the formula dried a little this clumped my lashes like crazy, the formula is also very wet so expect smudging and transfer if you buy this.

Face Makeup:
No7 Instant Illusions Airbrush Effect Primer:
This was very similar to the Rimmel London Stay Matte Primer which I also disliked, this wasn’t too bad for pores but barely blurred anything and did nothing to hold my makeup in place, this also liked to ball up under certain bases, another disappointment especially for the price of it.
Seventeen Flawless Poreless Primer:
If you’re reading this Rachel I do apologise I know you got me this and I so wanted to love this but it’s just not that great especially compared to the rest of Seventeen’s products. This is a very hard, silicone feeling balm almost, I find it hard to get this out of the pan you have to really dig and use your nails because simply touching it doesn’t get you any product, even when you have the product this isn’t bad for pores but again that’s about it, it’s a layer of nothing and doesn’t work with with foundations.
Clarins BB Perfecting Cream:
Newsflash Clarins, the shade ‘light’ should never ever be orange. This was the most orange toned base product I’ve ever tried and it was horrible, it looked greasy on the face had minimal coverage and the palest shade was way too dark, I’m disappointed.
2True BB Beautiful Cream:
Again this pale shade is very orange toned and offers minimal coverage. This isn’t as bad as the Clarins and I did like the finish at first but since then it doesn’t mattify how it did upon first application and the shade is too dark for me. If I use this I will use a ton of concealer.
2True Pro Bright Touch Concealer:
This is a pen concealer that mimics YSL’s Touche Eclat, this isn’t too bad for highlighting but the formula struggles to sink into the skin and can end up moving makeup around, also the shade is a little dark for a light concealer.
Max Factor Lasting Performance Foundation:
I like the finish and feel of this product but the lightest shade still was a tad dark for me making this another base that was hard to wear, this was a shame because the formula was pretty decent.
Almay Smart Shade Foundation:
The foundation formula wasn’t bad but not only was the thick grey/white paint looking texture off putting the smell was awful. This smelled like a mixture of paint and fish and I just couldn’t use it as it turned my stomach.

Lips
EOS Strawberry Lip Balm:
There is a love/hate thing going on with EOS Lip Balms and I can see why. Although the egg design is adorable and the scent is fairly nice albeit somewhat synthetic, I felt like this waxy formula didn’t hydrate my lips and actually acted as a barrier blocking any more hydration.
ELF Conditioning Lip Balm in Peaceful Pink:
I wasn’t a fan of the cinnamon-esque taste of this lip balm but the colour was nice, my main bug bear was that this dragged on the lips leaving my lips sore and didn’t hydrate to well, I was pretty disappointing I was hoping that this would be more conditioning and hydrating than it was.

Nails
Seche Vite Fast Dry Top Coat:
Initially I loved this, it really did have the glossiness that everyone raved about but I found that after a short amount of time half of the formula went gloopy and was impossible to use. This hadn’t been opened for long nor was it not stored correctly but it ended up being useless and for the price I’d like more than half a bottle of top coat please.
Cuccio Colour Nail Polishes:
These were majorly disappointing, sheer colour that requires many coats, uneven and streaky formulas and these chipped pretty quickly, I’ve found tons of better polishes than these that are better quality and cheaper.

Brushes
No7 Lip Brush:
This was terrible it splayed instantly, stained instantly and wouldn’t wash clean plus it was overly large and scratchy on the lips, I wasn’t a fan, again for the price of No7 I expected better.
French Connection Brushes: A couple of the eye brushes aren’t bad but the face ones are scratchy and most of these struggle to pick up any sort of product.

Skincare and Fragrance:
Mitchum Oxygen Unfragranced Deodorant:
With the huge hype around Mitchum I thought this would be incredible but nope, this smelled of old cereal and old milk plus it gave my sensitive skin a reaction, great job.
Madame Shi Red Ammo Perfume: This isn’t just the brands fault here, the Amazon seller didn’t pack this inside the tin so one of these smashed and leaked leaving a sludgy mess, also this had been discontinued so the scent changed and it smelled tinny and nasty.
Breakfast at Tiffanys Perfume: What originally smelled sherbertty and light was very different as I used it more often, this turned out to be a floral headache that just wasn’t that great.
Origins Out of Trouble Face Mask: I hoped this would really help my problem skin but this literally did nothing at all to my face so I really don’t understand the hype around this.
Origins Clear Improvement Face Mask: This seemed okay but ended up leaving my face really sore and again didn’t do much. I’ve tried a product by Avon’s Planet Spa range that is identical to this in the colour and formula yet works much better, I don’t rate this.

So there we have it, this was a long post so apologies but there are all of the products that have disappointed me lately. If you enjoyed this post please hit the like button and let me know in the comments which products have disappointed you recently.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

