Spend and Splurge – Red Lipsticks

If there’s one myth in the beauty world that I have to disagree with it’s that “high end products are always better than drugstore.” As a beauty lover I try a lot of products some of which are high end and some of which are drugstore, I’ve had cases where I’ve been really disappointed with a high end product and I’ve had cases where I’ve loved a drugstore product and vice versa, so I thought I could start a series comparing two products from different price ranges to see which one really is better. Today I’ve decided to pitch two of my favourite red lipsticks against each other to see which really is the best.
lipsticks
The Lipsticks
The two lipsticks I’m comparing are both red lipsticks. Up first is one that I’ve spoken about quite recently and that is the Illamasqua Matte Lipstick in Sangers, a bold, matte red lipstick. The second isn’t a matte lipstick but is still a great satin red lipstick and that is the Natural Collection Moisture Shine Lipstick in Cherry Red.
swatches
(Left Illamasqua lipstick in Sangers, Right: Natural Collection Moisture Shine Lipstick in Cherry Red)

Packaging
Hands down Illamasqua wins on the packaging front, I find the black packaging to be very sleek and chic and it’s easy to store. The Natural Collection packaging is simple and fitting for the natural theme of the brand however, the tubing doesn’t hold the lipstick very well and a lot of people (including myself) have suffered with our lipstick breaking, so that
needs working on.
illamasqua sangers
(Illamasqua lipstick in Sangers)
Colour
The colours are very simple both being bold red shades, the Natural Collection lipstick leans slightly towards the pinker side whereas Sangers is a bit more of a true red. I do find that Sangers can sometimes look more like it has orange undertones at times and other times it appears more of a pink red. Natural Collection is cool toned and Illamasqua is warm toned. Both are very similar but if I had to choose I would choose Illamasqua.
natural collection cherry red
(Natural Collection Moisture Shine Lipstick in Cherry Red)

Application
For application I do prefer the Natural Collection Lipstick. Illamasqua lipsticks can feel quite dry and this matte shade definitely feels dry on the lips and has more drag upon application. The Natural Collection lipstick is moisturising so it glides on the lips but manages not to slip and slide everywhere, the Natural Collection has a little less grip but fades much more evenly.

Finish:
I do prefer the matte finish of the Illamasqua Lipstick but it’s not as matte as it could be, it is more matte than the Natural Collection but it’s not the most matte red that ever existed by any means. The Natural Collection is a satin so it looks every so slightly glossy on the lips which I like. When wearing the Illamasqua I can’t rub my lips together because of the dryness but the Natural Collection is much more comfortable to wear.

Longevity:
Both lipsticks have very good lasting power but Natural Collection wins this one because it fades quite evenly and doesn’t leave a mess or stain behind whereas the Illamasqua does have a tendency to leave that dreaded ring of colour around the lips.

Winner…
Technically the Illamasqua wins by a very small technicality but in all honesty although I love the Illamasqua I love the Natural Collection one more mainly because of the price. Both are on par with each other but the Illamasqua lipsticks are now at £19.50 a lipstick whereas the Natural Collection Lipsticks are £1.99 each. Although I do love the Illamasqua I don’t think it is worth the price point and I would repurchase and recommend the Natural Collection Lipstick over it.

The Natural Collection Moisture Shine Lipsticks are available here for £1.99.

The Illamasqua Matte Lipstick in Sangers is available here for £19.50.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments which lipstick you prefer and if you was going to buy one which one you would choose.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

