Neutral Tones – The best and worst of neutral makeup

Despite always been a fan of bold or smokey colours, I seemed to have acquired a rather large amount of neutral makeup, something I’m quite pleased with as I’ve found that as I’ve gotten older bold makeup isn’t always appropriate for work places. It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these posts but I thought I’d discuss some of the neutral pieces I own and my best and worst out of the bunch. A quick point I must stress is that the “worst” products are not neccessarily terrible or bad but they’re not the ones I reach for the most out of the bunch.

The Best:
neutral good
Essie Nail Polish in Muchi Muchi
This isn’t a fully nude polish compared to the beiges and tans that a lot of people wear but since I don’t own a nude polish as of yet this is the closest to my natural nail colour, and unless I apply several coats of this, this is a my nails but better colour. I never thought I’d like pink polish but this is very pale and is excellent for a french manicure. I love this also for work as it adds a glossiness and classiness to my nails without being too in your face.

MAC Lipstick in Pure Zen
Shock horror this is the only MAC Lipstick I own. I do always intend to pick up more but then end up buying something else (I can confirm that my Illamasqua Lipstick collection does make up for this though. Pure Zen is a peachy nude, and is definitely a colour that I didn’t think would flatter my olive skintone but I really do like it. The cremesheen formula glides onto the lips and the colour is very pretty.

MUA Heaven and Earth Eyeshadow Palette
This definitely is £4.00 well spent. I’ve had this for a while and upon purchasing it I never thought I would love this so much but it really is amazing. Think buttery, pigmented eyeshadows for a budget friendly price and this is what you have. I really enjoy using this and it is probably my most used palette.

Rimmel London Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl in Nude
I do love black kohl for my waterline for defining my eyes but I’m yet to find one that doesn’t transfer, smudge, run or fade away, I do however adore this nude kohl and it’s become an everyday staple in my makeup bag. This is great for brightening the eyes and concealing any red rims due to a lack of sleep without being too harsh. It’s such a simple yet ingenious product and I absolutely love it, if you’re yet to try it then you really are missing out.

Rimmel London Shadow Stick in Bluffing
The Rimmel London Shadow Stick in Bluffing is a gorgeous yet particularly difficult to describe eye crayon that is great for swiping eyeshadow onto the lids. This is a hydrid of rose gold and champagne to make a really unique colour that is great as a highlight, on the inner corners or alone for a shimmery colour to the lids. I’ve used this so much and I definitely will be repurchasing this colour when I’ve used this one up.

Seventeen Mirror Shine Lipstick in Beehive
I have two of these in the shades Beehive and Belle and both are lovely. I would argue though that the peachiness of Beehive makes it ever so slightly more nude. I know that this was a cult product at one point and for good reason because it really is great. I really love the shade and because it’s more sheer and moisturising it’s less daunting than concealer lips which I hate.

Urban Decay Naked Palettes
I have 1 and 2 in the Naked Palette collection and although they may seem pricey breaking it down into the cost per shadow and the price is nothing to be sniffed at. These offer buttery, pigmented shadows that look and feel amazing and last on the lips. There is a small amount of fallout with these but nothing that compares to fallout of loose shadows, in all honesty I really love these.
neutral bad
The Worst:

2True 8hr Power Lip Colour in Uma
This is by no means an awful range of products, in fact I have this same product in the bold red shade (Angelina) and it is absolutely fabulous however I do find this to be less satisfactory. This particular shade is a warm toned pink shade which I do like for everyday wear but I just find that this doesn’t have the same amazing formula as the red shade and it’s not as comfortable or pigmented. As a result I don’t reach for this as much as I do other products.

2True Wow Gloss for Lips in Peachy Pout
Again I have two of these glossy lip crayons and the bold pink shade is amazing and I really adore it but I’m not a fan of this peach shade. Unfortunately this has to be layered and layered for the pigmentation to appear and it clings to any dry patches making your lips look awful. I don’t have these problems with the hot pink shade but this absorbs into the lips a little too much for my liking.

Revlon Colourburst Lipgloss in Bellini
As a rule of thumb I tend to wear lipsticks more than lipglosses but I do know a good lipgloss when I see one, for example my Maybelline Coloursensational Shine Lipgloss in Stellar Berry is brilliant, this however is not. This is quite thick and applies a very thick layer of nude gloss onto the lips, I don’t find this comfortable and it can end up looking a bit patchy. I believe this has been discontinued now but considering I rarely use it, I’m not going to miss it.

That concludes my best and worst of neutral makeup I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button. Let me know in the comments if you have tried any of these products and what your thoughts are on them.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Neutral Tones – The best and worst of neutral makeup

  1. I love the Heaven & Earth palette, great post! X

Leave a Reply

