Hair how tos #2 – How I dye my own hair

The last time I did one of these posts I spoke about how I cut my own hair and today I’m going to talk about how I dye my own hair. Similar to last time please bear in mind that I am an adult and I’m prepared to take responsibility if I screw up my own hair, if you are younger then make sure you have your parents permission and if possible see a hairdresser! This post if just for those interested in how I dye my hair.
bleach
Why do I dye my own hair?
I do have several reasons for dyeing my own hair firstly, I’m lazy and don’t really want to bother with a hairdressers, it’s also much more expensive to go to a hairdressers when I can do a box dye or ombre on myself and finally because I get bored easily. Over the years I’m dyed my hair almost every colour from reds, browns and blacks, to bolder colours such as green, turquoise, pink and purple, I like being able to dye it how I want and when I want whenever I feel like it.

What colours have I gone?
I’ve never done colours such as pastels or very white blondes or silvers, this is because naturally my hair is very dark almost black so it would need a lot of bleach and toning, I’m far to lazy to bleach my hair over and over and I definitely don’t suit blonde hair. That aside I’ve done:
Blue/Black
Violet
Dark Red
Bright Red
Brown
La Riche Directions Lagoon Blue (streak)
La Riche Directions Spring Green (streak)
La Riche Directions Apple Green (most of my hair)
La Riche Directions Alpine Green (Ombre)
La Riche Directions Turquoise (Ombre)
La Riche Directions Cerise (Ombre)
La Riche Directions Violet (Ombre)

What are my favourite dyes?
For bleach I always like to use Jerome Russell bleaches as I trust them and they take and work on my hair, I mainly use High Lift as it’s readily available like me but my favourite is Maximum Lift which will turn my hair from very dark brown to light gingery blonde which is light enough to slap a bold colour over the top. For box dyes I love the L’oreal Dyes especially the Fera or Casting Creme Gloss range and for colours La Riche Directions. I used to use Live XXL but find them to fade and dull after a week or so and they leave my hair looking lank and damaged.

How do I dye my own hair?
Selecting the dye is important if you’re lucky enough to have light coloured hair such as blonde then most colours won’t require you to use bleach and lighter shades will take on your hair. For brunettes and dark haired gals such as myself bleach is necessary for brighter hair which means the first thing I do is grab a bleach and I tend to go for bold and highly saturated colours, things like pastels, Spring Green and Lagoon Blue don’t take well on my hair and they don’t last but Turquoise can last my months at a time. My process then is as follows:

1) Brush my hair and straighten I dye my hair when it’s dry and straightened as it’s easier to do, dry hair absorbs more dye, freshly washed doesn’t allow much dye to penetrate the hair shaft,

2) Section my hair into two halves (one my each side) and pull forwards.

3) Clip up the top layers and top parts of my hair including the fringe and start dyeing the hair working from the underneath up. If it’s a box dye I still do this but then apply all over the head evenly.

4) I always wear gloves and to apply dyes I grab small handfuls of dye and apply it directly to the hair rather than using the brushes that come with most dye kits. Obviously be sure to always wear gloves and old clothing, also put an old towel on the carpet because bleach and dye stains carpets terribly.

5) Repeat the dyeing process underneath my hair then work on the top layers, if I’m working with more than one colour I will foil my hair meaning I dye the part I want coloured then wrap it in foil to prevent the dye touching other parts of my hair.

In a nutshell that’s my routine but it takes more precision, I’ve been dyeing my own hair for years now so it’s easy for me but for newbies it does take a lot of practice.

How do I prevent and deal with damage?
I always use moisturising products such as moisturising shampoos and conditioners, hair masks and treatments and I try not to overuse heat. I also use the Lee Stafford Breaking Hair Detangling Spray to prevent damage and if the ends get frazzled I cut them away when I need to. As a result I’ve never had chunks of hair fall out or snap.

Advice?
If you do like to dip dye and bleac like me, take breaks in between changing colours and top ups, I usually do dip dye, break, full colour head dye, break and so on, in those breaks I will cut my hair and give it a lot of TLC to restore the shine and healthiness. Overusing bleach will eventually wreck your hair so it’s important to keep it in good condition.

That’s it for this post, if you enjoyed it please hit the like button and let me know in the comments if you have ever dyed your hair before.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Hair and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hair how tos #2 – How I dye my own hair

  1. Hi Nina, Love it! I have done my own hair for years. I too have been many shades. I need to update my profile picture because I am a blonde now… I even do my own highlights and cut. Crazy huh? The thing is that I have paid big bucks and walked out in tears way too many times. I finally took matters into my own hands and have not turned back. Brave? sure but hey the best thing about hair is that it always grows back. I not only do my own hair but that of my own family and you know what that means? A lot of money saved. 😉 Great post, Hilda

  2. plus+beauty27 says:

    I used to do my own hair color but I just like to treat myself every now and then to getting it done and last time around I just had her do my natural color so I wouldn’t have to pay to get it done for a while lol. 🙂 xo

  3. Suzy Queue says:

    I’ve been coloring my own hair for over a year after going to my stylist four times a year and dropping $250 for a cut, color and highlights. 300+ for Ombre. I use drugstore brands. I like Feria. I take the money I save from the salon and treat myself to other goodies. Nice post. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

