Hair how tos- How I cut my own hair

Before I start this post I would like to point something out. I am a twenty year old and if I screw up cutting my own hair that’s on me and I will have to deal with it. I thought that it would be fun to do this post but if you are a younger reader or easily influenced I would thoroughly recommend you do NOT cut your own hair. I’m by no means a hairdresser but my with the amount of colouring and havoc I’ve put my hair through sometimes it needs a trim and every time I go to the hair dressers they do it wrong. Today I have a little guide for those who do cut their own hair or simply those interested in learning more about it, I hope that you enjoy this post.
hair

Why do I cut my own hair?
There is times where I love getting my hair done at the hairdressers but for me, time and money can sometimes be a problem. In addition to this I like my hair long and hairdressers always cut it too short or they don’t get it how I want it. Although I’m not an expert there are times where the ends of my hair are frazzled from bleach, dip dye and heat and so I give it a little trim. There are risks and in the past it’s not always gone as planned however, for me, I don’t mind to much if my hair is slightly uneven as I tend to mess it up anyway and use an abundance of product.

What do I use to cut my own hair?
I cut my hair with kitchen scissors (although in the past I have used hairdresser scissors) I will only use sharp scissors otherwise it leads to hacking at the hair which is never going to look good.

What do I do when I cut my own hair?
Although I like layers I don’t trust myself to get them right as I’m not a hairdresser, usually if my hair is frazzled at the ends I will give it a slight trim and I will cut my side fringe back in. As strange as it sounds whenever a hairdresser cuts my side fringe they get it wrong and to date I have never had a hairdresser get my fringe right and so I do that part myself.

What will I need?
I always change into an old t shirt and pants that can go straight into the wash, the reason for this is that trimmed bits of hair have a way of getting into your clothes and causing itchiness. I also sit on a towel to make the mess easier to clean up, I have a carrier bag to put the dead hair into and I also have clips, scissors and hair straighteners on hand.

How do I cut my hair?
I always cut my hair dry, this is because the hair appears longer when wet and so if it’s cut when wet, when it dries it will be shorter than it might have looked. I always brush through my hair and straighten it, I then divide my hair into two (at the back) and pull each side at the front.

Next I clip up the shorter and to parts and work from the underneath to the top. I start by trimming less than I would need to get the length I want, this is so when I let the strands go they will be at the length that I want when they are not being held tight. This also means that if I don’t cut enough off I can then cut a little more, if I cut too much then I will end up with a problem.

I’m always careful not to go to crazy, split ends can travel up the hair, so it’s always best to see out a hairdresser but if my hair is compeltely frazzled and dead, I keep going until all of (or most of) the damaged hair is cut away leaving the rest of my hair, soft and healthy.

For my fringe, I straighten it to how I like it and then I tie the rest of my hair bakc out of the way. To get my side fringe I like it to be a gradient length, getting longer the further away from the front of my head is. To do this I hold the scissors at an angle and then snip.

Advice:
Cutting your own hair isn’t something I’d take lightly, especially if you haven’t done it before. My hair grows quite quickly and if I screw it up I’m okay with that and will take responsibility. At the end of the day I’m not a professional, but this is more convenient for me. I would not recommend this to anyone who is a young teenager (I tried the first time at twelve and it was one hot mess.) I also wouldn’t recommend this if you are not happy with the risks, there is always a chance you will screw it up (in fact it’s quite likely) and if you don’t want to accept that, then play it safe and go to a hairdresser.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have every cut your hair and what your experiences were.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Hair and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hair how tos- How I cut my own hair

  1. plus+beauty27 says:

    You’re very brave to cut your own hair. I don’t think I could ever do it. I would so mess it up! lol xo

  2. rachelhailesx says:

    I cut my own hair when was about five. Unfortunately, my mother figured out that one side of my hair was significantly shorter than the other and she had to take me to the hairdressers where i ended up with a bob. I also learnt that if I ever wanted to hide things from my parents NOT to put it in their wardrobe… xxx

Leave a Reply

