Revlon Colourburst Matte Balm in Showy Review

Since the release of the Clinique Chubby Sticks and then the Revlon Colourburst Matte Balms, every brand seems to have released their own versions of lip crayons, but one that still remains the best and my favourite has to be the Revlon Colourburst Matte Balms. This is one of two in my collection I donated the shade Shameless to my bestie after finding that I didn’t use it as much as I thought I would) and the latest addition to my collection is the shade Showy. Here’s my thoughts.
balm
I’ve mentioned the packaging before but I love the packaging of these products, the colour ofthe product is reflected with the same colour tubing and the addition of silver adds a sophistication that I love. Thes products twist up so no sharpening is required (thankfully) it’s versatile, minimal yet pretty. The price of these is Β£7.99 which I think is fair for a good quality lip product.
crayon
The scent is the same across the range and these smell like peppermint tea which is unoffensive and refreshing, the shade Showy is a hot blue toned pink which I love for this time of year.
swatch
The finish of these is matte so they do cling to the lips, although I didn’t notice this with the shade Elusive, this particular shade isn’t too forgiving on dry lips so I would recommend exfoliating before using this product.

I do love the colour and the finish and the fact that these don’t bleed but sadly I have noticed that the longevity doesn’t lend too well. These do last longer than many satin lipsticks and glosses but this didn’t survive until the typical 5 o clock slip, so if you do want this to stay on your lips all day then you will need to reapply. Having said that this isn’t the most high maintenance lip product I’ve used by far.
on me
There are more shades in the range,(any that are bolded are shades that I have owned and have tried myself) for anyone interested these are the other shades:
Standout: Brick Red
Striking: Bold Red
Audacious: Bright Orange
Mischievious: Pale peachy pink
Shameless: Red toned violet
Unapologetic: Mid toned coral pink
Showy: Hot blue toned pink
Sultry: 90s Brown toned pink
Elusive: Pale slightly blue toned pink
Complex: Pinkish nude

There also seems to be some more shades on the Boots website, but there’s no colour swatches available online.

Overall I do like this product, I’m not sure if I would repurchase as I do have an extensive collection of lip products, I did find a particular lip balm was drying my lips out though so hopefully now I’ve switched I’ll be able to wear this more as it is nice for summer, especially as I’ve been tempted by the shade Audacious…

The Revlon Colourburst Matte Balms are available here for Β£7.99.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried any of these or if you would give them a go.

Thanks for reading.
Love Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Revlon Colourburst Matte Balm in Showy Review

  1. Nice color. Peppermint Tea? Sounds like a great scent!

  2. rachelhailesx says:

    I always get dragged into lipsticks by their scent. The Rimmel lipstick scents are my favourite by far haha. I love the colour of Shameless as I am such a purple lipstick girl! xxx

  3. plus+beauty27 says:

    Great review! This is such a pretty shade! I have Elusive! Now I want to pull it out and wear it lol. πŸ™‚ xo

Leave a Reply

