Cult Products Win or Bin #1

There are certain products within the beauty industry that are cult products. Coveted by many these products gain a vast amount of media attention and are constantly mentioned and referenced by both journalists and bloggers and youtubers, however, not all of these products actually work. With sponsored posts, bias, and advertising contracts to be maintained, the representation of some products is skewed and so I thought that today I’d compare ten cult products and tell you if they really are as great as they say (win) or if they’re not worth the time or money (bin.)
cult
1) Barry M Gelly Hi Shine Nail Paints RRP £3.99 each
With the introduction of acrylic nails and gels, everyone sought after perfectly glossy nails, however, for many, the price tag (and the damage to the natural nail) came at too high a price and so many binge bought (yes that is officially a thing and I am guilty.) I have to say I really love these polishes, a top coat isn’t required and two coats offers a beautiful opaque colour that is incredibly glossy. I’m really impressed and currently own at least four of these.
Verdict: Win

2) Charles Worthington Volume and Bounce Texturising Spray RRP £6.99
This really is a worthy addition to your hair care collection (sorry that was a bad pun.) For any suffers of flat hair, this just adds life and bounce and can help your hair double in size. I really love this product for adding volume and it smells great too. This has also been hailed as a dupe for the Oribe Texturising Spray, but I haven’t tried that and I don’t feel the need to splurge on it any time son.
Verdict: Win

3) Collection Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Concealer RRP £4.19
Finding a great under eye concealer can be particularly tricky, especially if you have oily skin or if like me, you have those pesky fine lines that concealer loves to sink into. This is probably one of my favourite concealers ever, dealing with spots and blemishes and keeping my dark circles at bay whilst having a shade that is light enough for me. All for the price of £4.19.
Verdict: Win

4) Eyeko Skinny Liquid Liner RRP £12.00
Thankfully I didn’t splurge on this and instead received it in a Glamour magazine and I was really disappointed. I loved the idea of a felt liner but this was watery, needed reapplying and ended up being difficult to work with, in the end it got a bit dry and so I passed it along. Honestly I was expecting much more from this especially with the hype it had gained and was left disappointed. I won’t be using this again.
Verdict: Bin

5) Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser RRP £14.00
This is honestly my all time favourite cleanser and works wonders on dry and sensitive skin. This has two faces, first apply the cooling cream to the face and massage in, then use a hot flannel (or the muslin cloth provided) and gently remove buffing away dead skin cells in the process. This smells lovely and gentle and is suitable for sensitive skin, leaving your cleansed skin and soft and as smooth as a baby’s bum.
Verdict: Win

6) L’oreal Skin Perfection 3 in 1 Micellar Solution RRP £4.99
Another disappointing products comes in the form of a micellar water which are greatly loved by the beauty community. I found this to irritate my sensitive skin and to leave it sore and red which wasn’t really suitable. I had hoped for this to feel refreshing and cooling but it didn’t and it struggled making a dent in my makeup. I wouldn’t repurchase this.
Verdict: Bin

7) Maybelline 24 Hr Colour Tattoos RRP £4.99
I had four of these at one point and now I’m finally using up one after binning or giving away the other three. These started out creamy but dried out really quickly, some of the shades such as Eternal Gold, where dry as soon as I opened them which was a major disappointment. These are often raved about and it does seem like the texture and quality of the shades are inconsistent but I won’t be purchasing these anymore, especially with so many great alternatives on the market.
Verdict: Bin.

8) Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Liner RRP £7.99
For me, this si the stuff of dreams. The has an intense black pigmentation and is creamy enough to work with but not so creamy that it turns into a slip n slide. This helps me get perfect winged liner looks – which can be quite challenging and has amazing longevity. This is also hailed as a dupe for the Bobbi Brown Gel Liner, but I haven’t tried that.
Verdict: Win

9) Origins Clear Improvement Mask RRP £23.00
I got this in a set of three Origins masks and this was disappointing. This really dried out my skin leaving it sore, red and tight and I didn’t notice an improvement with my spots or blemishes. This also contains alcohol which I’m not too fussed over in some products but can dry the skin further. I used this once and I won’t be using it again. I don’t think that this is suitable for uber sensitive skin like mine.
Verdict: Bin

10) Rimmel London Wake me up Foundation RRP £8.99
This is loved by so many people who are forever searching for that ‘summer glow’ but for me it just didn’t work. The colour was too dark although I did pick up the wrong shade I believe, but I also found the texture to be uneven. This applied dark and then got lighter as I blended it and ended up looking patchy and oily, I also wasn’t impressed with the shimmer and ended up just giving this away. I’m yet to try the concealer but I didn’t like this foundation at all, I prefer the Match Perfection or Lasting Finish foundations by Rimmel London.
Verdict: Bin.

So that is it for this post and if you enjoyed it please hit the like button. Have you tried any of thee products? Which cult products have you tried and are they good or bad? Let me know in the comments section.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cult Products Win or Bin #1

  1. Breanna says:

    I love the title of this post-it’s so creative!
    I agree with your opinion about the Maybelline 24 Hour Color Tattoos. I purchased it in Barely Branded because so many people raved about it…and it dried out in a week!

    • Thank you so much 🙂 I was really disappointed with the colour tattoos they seem to be really unstandardised some shades are better than others but even so, it’s ridiculous how quickly they dry out!

Leave a Reply

