Ten Beauty Hacks #1

We all have those little makeup emergencies, perhaps you’ve decided to use your favourite cream eyeshadow only to find that it’s dried out, or your wallet is aching from all of the brush cleansers that you’ve been buying. Today I thought it would be fun to share ten beautyhacks – little tips, tricks and shortcuts to get the most out of your products!
beauty hacks
1) How to revive a cream eyeshadow
I don’t know about you guys but when I first purchased the Maybelline Colour Tattoos they were ace and then they dried up – like super quickly. I wanted to get some use of the the shadows and I discovered that adding a couple (and I mean a couple) of drops of oil before stirring the shadow revives it and gets rid of the dry texture. I wouldn’t do this all of the time and this if there is any change in the scent of your products then they’ve most likely expired so only use this in a pinch.

2) Get those last drops of your favourite mascara
Now that I’m older I’m lucky enough to be able to afford a new mascara when I need one, but once upon a time I had very little money and so I needed my mascara to last. What I found works is to take the tubes of product and then to put them in a cup/jug of boiling water. The hot water melts the product that is stuck to the inside of the tube meaning that you have a few more uses to last you until payday – hurrah!

3) How to save money on brush cleanser
It might seem like a great idea spending a fortune on the latest brush cleanser from X/Y/Z expensive makeup brand, but honestly there’s no need. I use the Johnsons Baby Shampoo which is much cheaper and it really does work, better yet the Baby Shampoo is formulated for sensitive baby hair so there’s no nasty ingredients in there that will ruin your brushes.

4) The cheapest and best moisturiser for sensitive skin
If you’re struggling ith Eczema, Psiorisis and the like, some moisturisers containing fragrances can set it off not to mention that decent moisturisers can be pricey, however one of the best is Aqueous Cream. This might sound boring but it works and it’s a unfragranced, gentle, white cream that really hydrates the skin.

5) Banish flyaways for free.
Flyaways can be the bane of my existance and I know that if you live in a humid climate or suffer from frizziness you will feel my pain! Hairsprays can be a pain and don’t always work especially if you’re hair is wavy or curly, I find that to get rid of them when my hair is dry I will twist it and then using scissors will carefully trim any hairs that are sticking out of the twist. This is a great trick for cutting the flyaways without having to trim or cut your hair.

6) No fuss, no spend eye primer.
If you have oily eyelids then you will most likely be reliant on eye primer, but the likes of Urban Decay and Nars can be pricey especially if you’re going through them like water. If I don’t have an eye primer to hand I like to apply some concealer to my eyelids and then to blend it in with my ring finger, this doesn’t cost a penny and it actually works.

7) No more concealer creasing
Despite only being twenty my concealer can have a tendency to crease or to settle into fine lines under my eyes especially if I use a brush, but I did find a solution. Simply apply the concealer, ditch the brush and pat it in with your ring finger, this prevents smudging or brush marks and increases the longevity.

8) Maximising the effects of your cleanser
If you suffer with spots, cystic acne or just fancy a deep cleanse, you may find that you’re cleanser isn’t working well enough especially if you pores are clogged but the simple answer is steaming. If my skin is particularly clogged, simply take a hot bowl of water and gently lean your head over the water and place a towel over your head to trap the heat in. The steam that rises from the bowl will help to open your mores which will make cleanser afterwards much more effective. To help to tighten your pores afterwards if you don’t have a toner simply splash some cold water onto the face.

9) Remembering which polishes you own
If you have a large nail polish collection like me it’s quite easy to buy the same polish twice or two colours that are incredibly similar. To keep track in a notebook or sketchpad I swatch my polishes and once dry write underneath the polish swatch. This is a really great way to keep track of similar shades and your favourites that you may end up wanting to repurchase.

10) The free spot buster
I have mentioned this before but if I have a red or yellowhead spot that is rearing it’s ugly head, on an evening I’ll dab some toothpaste over the top of it and leave it on overnight. In the morning I wash off the toothpaste and mostly I’ll find that the spot has dried out because I’ve starved it of extra oil or moisturiser. If you really, really, really, must pop that spot (which I hate doing and rarely do) then ensure that you thoroughly cleanse the face after, I’ll usually add some Germoline for good measure.

So there are ten of my beauty hacks, I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did hit the like button.Please share your beauty hacks or let me know if you will be trying any of these in the comments section.

Thanks for reading.
Love Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Beauty on a Budget, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

