Illamasqua Nail Polish in Vice Review

I was introduced to Illamasqua as a brand by my bestie Rachel a year or two a go and I fell head over heels in love with their products pretty swiftly. I absolutely adore their lipsticks and I have a cream eyeshadow by them that is absolutely gorgeous. I was really intrigued by their nail polish range but found thema little pricey, so I picked up the shade Vice from Ebay and have been giving it a really good go, here’s my thoughts.
illamasqua vice
In terms of packaging, I love it, Illamasqua always do packaging well. The box with the little cut out to show the shade looks really high end and mysterious, and the bottle is quite a large bottle of polish which is great. Illamasqua polishes are most certainly not cheap at £14.50 (ouch!) although they are cheaper than the likes of Louboutin, but I still felt that the price was high enough for me to buy it elsewhere.

In terms of the shade, this is really beautiful I would describe it as cerise or in simpler terms a deep raspberry, I must warn you that no matter how many photos I took or swatches I googled none of them are quite true to colour, this polish is darker than it appears in photos and is less pink and more purply.

What is interesting about this polish is it’s finish. Illamasqua describe this as a rubberised finish and it’s not quite matte but not fully glossy either, it reminds me of colouring my nails in with sharpie or markers in school and I’m not sure if I’m keen. Another way to imagine it is to imagine sticking your finger in a rubber glove and looking at your finger, it has that kind of matte look with a sheen to it.

In all honesty I do love the colour of this polish and the formula is pretty longlasting lasting me at least half a week before chipping (without a top coat) although I don’t agree with the ‘chip resistant formula’ let’s face it, even my beloved Barry M polishes all chip at some point.
illamasqua polish
What is a little off-putting is that I’m not sure on the finish. For me Vice is pretty enough of a colour that I will and can wear it but I wouldn’t purchase any other ‘rubberised finish’ polishes, I much prefer the glossy finish of a cream polish myself.

Having said that, Illamasqua didn’t disappoint with a stunning colour and so I raided TKMAXX and I do have a couple of other colours (that are not rubberised finishes) to try so I will be reviewing them at some point.

The Illamasqua Nail Polish in Vice is available here for £14.50.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried any Illamasqua polishes and what your thoughts are on a rubberised finish.

Thanks for reading.
Love Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Nails and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

