Give and Makeup charity and what I’m donating

I don’t really mention it too much but I am pretty big on charity. I am a student and so I can’t afford to constantly do regular donations just in case one month I’m skint however, when I can I do like to help the homeless and donate to charities and I’ve recently come across one charity that allows you to declutter and send of your beauty items that you no longer and to rehome them, so I thought I’d share with you a little more information on the charity and what I will be donating.

What is the charity and how does it work?
I first stumbled across the charity Give and Makeup when I was browsing for charities to donate to. My friend’s mum suffered with breast cancer and received support from a charity named Look Good Feel Better, a charity which gave new makeup products to those who had gone through cancer in order to give them back some confidence. I emailed the charity to see if I could donate but unfortauntely they only accepted makeup directly from the brands, I continued to search and came across Give and Makeup.

Give and Makeup is a charity that helps women who have suffered through domestic abuse. This issue is one that really stands out to me for personal reasons and I feel like it is a very good cause. Many women who suffer from domestic abuse are left feeling unconfident and fearful, many can develop a fear of leaving the house and of course they feel ugly and lost. Understandably for these women with little money, they are going to be trying to support themselves and their children (if they have them) and so what we may spend on a lipstick is something that they have to stretch. They don’t have the luxury of browsing through Boots and buying things on a whim, that’s where we can step in, by donating our unwanted products.

The scheme is supported by Escentual (www.escentual.com) and Caroline Hirons (who I believe set this up.) Here is some more information about the charity:
What is Give and Make Up?
Each week two women in the United Kingdom are murdered by a partner or ex-partner. One woman in four experiences domestic violence in their lifetime. Refuge and Women’s Aid projects protect the lives of thousands of women and children every day. Give and Make Up is a non-profit initiative whose sole purpose is to get everyday essentials into the hands of these women and children who need them the most.
Within Wales, Give and Make Up supports Welsh Women’s Aid – who distribute the products across the whole of Wales.

The scheme runs in different parts of the United Kingdom to help those truly in need, this is an example for Wales which is taken from the Escentual website. You can donate your products and they can be new, or used (although if they are used they should be in good condition, don’t be sending your twenty year old expired Avon lotion or use this as a way to dump rubbish.) Here is a list of things that Give and Makeup accepts.

Everyday Essentials

Skincare

Makeup

Tools

Shampoo

Cleanser

Foundation

Makeup brushes

Conditioner

Toner

Concealer*

Hair dryers

Bath Shower/Gel

Moisturiser

Powder

Curling Tongs

Deodorant

Blusher

Straighteners

Toothbrushes

Eyeshadow

Tweezers

Body Lotion

Eyeliner

Feminine Hygene products

Mascara*

Shaving products

Lipgloss*

At home hair dye kits

Baby products

Anything that has been lightly used is fine – if you would happily give it to a friend – we’ll take it!

*Please note – we can only accept new items of anything with an applicator wand e.g. mascara/lip gloss/concealer. Free gift sizes are fine, as are samples.

As noted above, lipglosses, mascaras and concealers that have been used cannot be donated as they can house bacteria and cannot correctly be sanitised. Now that you have a good amount of information on the charity, I thought I would share with you what I, and my best friend Rachel will be donating. I will give you more information on the products I am donating simply so I can state the condition.
give and makeup stuff

Rachel is donating:
Seventeen Kajal Liner
Baylis and Harding Herbal Therapy Body Cream
Baylis and Harding Herbal and Therapy Hand and Nail Cream
Florentyna Body Lotion
Ted Baker Butterfly Wings Body Lotion

I am donating:
Lee Stafford Here Come the Curls Curl Management Spray
(I have only used one-two squirts of this but wasn’t a fan, however it might work well for someone else.)
Pantene Pro-V Conditioner Breakage Defence Sample Sachet
(Sample are accepted by Give and Makeup and can be easier to travel with and store.)
Roots and Rituals Deep Conditioning Hair Oil and Conditioner
(I received this through PR and reviewed them but the scent made me feel ill, others were not fussed by the scent however and these feel very luxurious.)
Beauty Formulas Soothing and Hydrating Moisture Mask
(This is a resealable sachet, I’ve used this once but it irritates my sensitive skin.)
Vichy 7 Day Liftactif Supreme 7 trial sample sachets
(I like to think that I’m not in need of anti ageing products just yet and Vichy is a lovely brand so I thought these would be nice for a mature woman.)
Bare Minerals Bare Skin Pure Brightening Serum Foundation Sample
(I received this in a beauty box but I know instantly that the colour will be way too dark for me, so I’ve not used it and will be passing this along.)
Avon 8 in 1 Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Palette
(This has been lightly swatched by I never really used this so I will be rehoming it.)
BC Body Collection Classic Eyeshadow Palette
(The packaging of this is a little worn but they eyeshadows are fine, I’m only used a couple of them lightly and they are pretty but I just don’t reach for them.)
Vivo Captive Eyes Eyeshadow x2
(I had a few of these and they work well as an eyeshadow base, but I don’t ever use these.)
Rimmel Kate Scandaleyes Shadow Stick in Electric Sapphire
(I tried this but found it difficult to work with and I’ve only used this a couple of times so will be passing this on.)
Natural Collection Solo Shadows in Fine Silver and Lavender
(
These are really pretty eyeshadows but I often turn to palettes and I don’t use these.)
Avon Mono Eyeshadow in Blue Satin
(
This is a lovely shadow but doesn’t suit me I’ve only worn it a couple of times so will be passing this on.)
Collection Colour Intense Trio in Steel Ice
(I have plenty of smokey eyeshadows so I don’t use this, I’ve tried it once or twice but just don’t use it.)
Maybelline Colour Tattoo in Turquoise Forever
(I originally liked this but find that they can dry up quickly, I’m never going to use up this so thought I could rehome it.)
Solutions BB Cream
(This is the lightest shade but is way to orange and dark on me so this will be passed on.)
SBC Blushers x3
I have tons of blushers and matches for these three shades, I’ve never used these so will be passing them on.
Rimmel London Lasting Finish Mono Blush in Santa Rose
(A lovely blusher but I have dupes for this so will be passing this on.)
Espa Naturally Radiant Tinted Moisturiser Sample in 02 Blush
(I have this same sample in the lighter shade which matches me, this is a little dark so I don’t use it.)
Jemma Kidd Makeup School Lipgloss (in a squeezy tube)
(This is a bit thick and sticky for me, but it smells and tastes lovely so I’ll pass this on.)
NEW CID Cheek and Lip Tint in Strawberry Souffle
(I did think this was nice but I barely use it so thought it could go to a new home.)
Maybelline Baby Lips in Pink Punch
(I find this shade too bright and barbieesque so I’ve barely used this, I’ll be passing this on.)
Fuchsia Lipstick in Vamp
(I have a lot of berry and dark lipsticks so thought I could pass this one on.)
Natural Collection Wild Strawberry Shower Cream
(This is a mini bottle but I have tons of shower products so I’ve never used this.)
Nail Polishes x7
(I have way too much polish and I just don’t use these as much as I shouldI’ll be donating:
*Rimmel London Lasting Finish Polish in Black Cab and It’s a scorcher!
*Rimmel London Metal Rush Nail Polish in Royal Blue
*Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Good to Grape
*Collection Hot Looks Fast Dry in Catwalk and Tutti Fruity
* Miss Sporty Nail Polish in 304
Collection Dazzle Me Pigment in Mystery
(I don’t use loose shadows much because they end up everywhere)
Avon Colour Definition Lip Liner and Lipstick in Bronzy
(I tried this once and I hate the colour so hopefully someone else might like it.)

So that is everything I’m donating, at the moment it seems that the huge list of addresses on Caroline Hirons’ website has shrunk down however she does have relevant links. I don’t live in London but Caroline did confirm to me that sending parcels to the London address is still acceptable.

Information for different areas can be found here and there also is a Twitter account answering questions here.

I hope that you will find some things to donate and if you did please link me to your post so I can have a read, I think it’s lovely that we can try to make a difference to these womens’ lives. If you enjoyed this post please hit the like button.

Thanks for reading.
Love Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

