Lush Mint Julips Lip Scrub Review

I’ve always heard great things about Lush and for the longest time I’ve wanted to try some of their products from their scrummily scented bath and shower products, to their natural and vegan skincare. I went into Lush for the first time (my nearest one is two cities away) and I was overwhelmed by the pretty colours, friendly staff and choice and so I decided to pick up something that I hadn’t come across before and grabbed the lip exfoliator otherwise known as their lip scrub, here’s my thoughts.
lush mint scrub
In terms of the packaging I love the iconic graffiti style packaging of Lush products and this is no exception. This lip scrub is a small pot but it holds 25g of product (and a little really goes a long way) for £5.50 which isn’t too badly priced (especially as Lush donate their proceeds to charity.) I also love the little sticker at the bottom of the product saying who made it, I think it’s very cute and adds a personal touch, apparently mine was made by Gavin…Cheers Gavin mate!

There is a few different flavours of the lip scrub, I wasn’t a fan of the popcorn finding it a little salty and the kiss flavour which is very sherbety is a limited edition Christmas edition and so I opted for the Mint Julips flavour which smells and tastes like butter mints, yum!
product
In terms of the way this works it is similar to a fine grit and is very dry with a texture similar to sea salt. I lick my finger and dip it into the product and once it is stuck to my finger I gently rub it on my lips in a circulat motion to exfoliate my lips and buff away the dead skin cells.I then lick it off (because it is safe to do so, just don’t eat the entire jar.)

The product is described as follows:
Mint Julips Lip Scrub. Mint chocolate (without the chip) is what you get with this tasty sugar lip buffer. (On the product)

A gentle lip scrub with more than a hint of mint humbug about it. Turn chapped lips into mint-choc chip lips: warming peppermint and sweet vanilla combine with real sugar crystals to give your lips (and tastebuds) a service, leaving them primed for smooth lipstick application. As soon as you gently rub Mint Julips on your lips, you’ll feel its invigorating peppermint oil tingling away while the sugar crystals buff away any flaky skin.

So the burning question that I’m sure that you’re all wondering…does it work? My answer is a resounding YES. I use this on an evening and when my lips are particularly dry and it’s amazing for removing the dead skin (without any stinging or irritation) and works perfectly when followed up with my Burts Bees Peppermint Oil Lip Balm.

Just in case you are worried about the ingredients due to sensitive skin here is the ingredients list:
Castor Sugar, Organic Jojoba Oil (Simmondsia Chinesis), Vanilla Extract (Vanilla Planllolia), Targetes Oil (Tagetes Minuta), Peppermint Oil (Mentha Piperita), *Limonene Flavour.
Occurs naturally in essential oils.

As you can see from the ingredients, no alcohol, no parabens or anything terrible that will irritate the skin, this is simply a blend of oils to soften and nourish the lips and I am absolutely fine with it, which goes to show how good it is as I have terribly sensitive skin.

This is such a budget friendly product and yet it’s so ingenious, no longer do I have to wait for a week until my lip balm eventually gets rid of the dry skin because this works instantly and it smells and tastes delicious.

Overall, I’m blown away by this, I absolutely adore it. If you suffer with dry lips and find that a balm can take too long to work then I’d definitely reccomend this because this is simply luscious (sorry I had to include the pun).

The Lush Mint Julips Lip Scrub is available here for £5.50.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have ever tried a Lush Lip Scrub and if you would consider it.

Thanks for reading.
Love Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

