Rimmel London Stay Matte Primer Review

Although I do treasure the bits and pieces of high end beauty products that I own, I’ve always been a drugstore girl at heart, so when I ran out of primer ages ago I ended up purchasing the Rimmel London Stay Matte Primer to try, unfortunately this is another disappointing product for me following their nail polishes, Kate range and Wake Me Up Foundation leaving me saddened but hopeful about the new additions to their Lasting Finish range, here’s my thoughts.
primer
(I do not own this photo copyright and credits go to rightful owners)
Disclaimer: Apologies for not having my own photo for the product, but mine has gotten quite gunky after being in my makeup bag, so I thought I’d use an online photo. Do note, white packaging sucks!

The packaging for the primer is a little dull in my opinion, I know that packaging isn’t everything but compared to other brands such as B from Superdrug, MUA and even Maybelline, I just find that this white tube with a splash of purple is a little plain. The price of the product is £5.99 making it a tad cheaper than Maybelline’s Baby Skin.

Starting off with the texture and colour, the primer comes out white like a cream and when you apply it to the face has a siliconesque feel not dissimilar to the likes of Maybelline’s Baby Skin, GOSH’s Velvet Touch Line Perfector and Benefit’s Porefessional, this texture doesn’t particularly bother me however I’m not sure I would describe it as lightweight.

Naturally the main selling point of this product is that it claims to control shine and help you stay mattified, also it claims to fill in pores which is something that I always look for in a primer, the product descriptions is as follows:

Skin Perfecting primer, ultra lightweight formula minimises the appearance of pores. Controls shine for up to 8 hours creating a soft perfectly matte complexion. Won’t feel heavy or greasy.

I think I’m going to start with the first claim as I’ve alredy touched upon the heaviness of the product. Personally when I hear “skin perfecting” I think of the likes of Body Shop Universal Blur and Indeed Labs Nanoblur, I imagine the product to make my blemishes less obvious and to fill in my pores like an airbrushed effect, something which I don’t think that this product delivers.
no primer
(I am wearing no base makeup including not wearing primer)
with primer
(Here I have on the primerplease note I’m quite shiny (the photo hides that) also note that pores and still visible and blemishes are not blurred, the photo actually makes my skin look better than it actually does).

Onto the shine and mattifying and again this made no difference to me, my skin is on the drier side yet with most foundations this doesn’t control any shine, I find that when using my Rimmel London Lasting Perfection Foundation that without any primer it adheres pretty well, I tested this using two other foundations out of curiosity and found that this primer made no difference other than leaving my face slightly sticky.

My last hope landed on the pore filling side, I wouldn’t say I have huge pores but they are detectable on my cheeks just at the side of my nose and on the cheekbones so usually if a primer helps to make a dent or even erase them completely I know that it’s semi decent or a hit.

Sadly this primer let me down on the pore front as well, making absolutely no difference whatsoever.

Overall I kind of felt like this was a pointless product and a waste of money, I’m all for budget products but I prefer my GOSH primer which is double the price but my all time favourite primer. Sorry Rimmel but I feel disappointed and wouldn’t repurchase or recommend this product.

The Rimmel London Stay Matte Primer is available here for £5.99.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button. Have you tried this product and if so what did you think? Let me know in the comments also the worst primer you have ever tried, for me it has to be this followed by Maybelline’s Baby Skin.

Thanks for reading.
love x nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Face and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rimmel London Stay Matte Primer Review

  1. plus+beauty27 says:

    Great review! I didn’t like this primer either unfortunately. :/

Leave a Reply

