What’s in my makeup bag? #1

Despite my blog being over a year old I recently realised that I’ve never done a “What’s in my makeup bag?” post which is crazy because I’m constantly rotating my makeup bag as new products are received and old products need using up, so I thought it would be fun to share with you what I’m currently using.
whatsinside

Before we get started I do have a very large makeup bag and usually I apply my makeup in the morning and it lasts the day so I don’t cart all of these products with me!
makeup bag
(My makeup bag was a Christmas Gift from my mum and dad, so unfortunately I can’t share a link with you as I have no idea where it is from!)

Eyes
No7 Protect and Perfect Intense Eye Cream
My friend Rachel gave me this and although I recently purchased the Origins Ginzing Eye Cream I haven’t opened that yet whereas this was already open so I thought I’d try to use it before it expires. This is really nice, if you are looking for a radiant cream that reflects light then this isn’t really it but this hydrates my undereyes and protects them from damage, the hydration also prevents my dark circles from looking as bad. I use this morning and night and I really like it.

Maybelline Colour Tattoo in Endless Purple
I threw away my black shade of this and gave my gold one to my mum leaving me with this shade and the turquoise one. This shade is really pretty but the formula of these just sucks, they make for great eye bases or colours but they dry out so incedibly quickly that I’m constantly having at add oil to them to revive then. I’m close to using up this colour (literally I’m scraping the bottom of the pot) and I won’t repurchasing. This is a nice colour though and a great colour base.

Natural Collection Solo Shadow in Lavender
I just don’t give these eyeshadows enough love, they’re pretty in an array or pastel and shimmer shades and they’re cheap as chips. I’ve been applying this across my lid over the top of the Colour Tattoo and my eye makeup has been staying on all day. This is a pretty blue toned purple shade (basically it’s lavender) and it’s pale enough that it’s great for spring.

Essence 3D Eyeshadow in Irresitable-Puurple
I adore these 3D eyeshadows from Essence and I need to review the two shades I have! These have an amazing colour payoff, are budget friendly and have a lovely, longlasting finish. There is a slight amount of fallout but nothing major. Each of these shadows has a bold, dark shade which I use in my crease, then a paler shade which is great towards the brow bone and in the inner corners and lower lash line to brighten up the look. This works perfectly with the Colour Tattoo and Natural Collection Solo Shadow for a bold purple look.

Maybelline The Rocket Volume Express Waterproof Mascara
This is the latest mascara in my makeup bag after I used up the Revlon Lash Potion Mascara. I’m hit and miss with this, the brush and formula are okay and they do seperate and lengthen my lashes but I feel like if the plastic bristles were longer like the Benefit They’re Real Mascara that this would work better for my lashes. On the plus side this doesn’t flake or transfer to my lower lash line which is a welcome change.

Rimmel London Scandaleyes Waterproof Eye Kohls in Nude and Black
I’ve mentioned these kohls on my blog before especially the nude one, these are creamy, longlasting and easy to apply. The black one is what I use on my tightline and occasionally on my waterline if I want to define my eyes, but it’s the nude one that has my heart. This little nude kohl of joy is amazing at brigthening my eyes and making me look like I’ve had a decent night’s sleep.

Sleek Brow Kit in Dark
I’ve mentioned this before, but it’s not the products I’m using in this kit it’s the handy little brushes. I use the straight powder brush to apply my Billion Dollar Brows Brow Power in Taupe and it works perfectly.

Billion Dollar Brows Brow Powder in Taupe
I’ve reviewed this already and it made it into my last favourites post. This is a new addition to my makeup bag after this was sent to me by Wantable and I cannot get enough of this. This fills in my brows but in a way that looks really natural as I can see my brow hairs through them. This makes my brows look sculpted but soft at the same time.

Natural Collection Lash Care Clear Mascara
This isn’t something I need to tame my brows as such because the brow hairs on me are very fine however I like to apply this to makeup sure that my brows are waterproof because I can’t have my brows melting away in the rain! This is budget friendly and not only does it work but it is a great multi purpose product.

Face
Rimmel London Stay Matte Primer
I’ve been using the Rimmel London Stay Matte Primer recently as I thought I’d give it a go to review however, this isn’t great. It’s a white cream that you rub in but for me it doesn’t seem to do anything, it doesn’t fill in pores, blur or even make me matte like the name says so in all honesty this has been something I’ve just been using up whilst I’m at home.

ESPA Naturally Radiant Tinted Moisturisers in Nude and Blush
I recently was sent these by ESPA and reviewed them and I’ve been really enjoying these. These offer me a semi sheer coverage, hydrate my face and give me skin the glow that I never thought I’d be able to achieve. The shade Blush is slightly dark for me, but if I mix that with Nude it works well and is lovely for spring time.

Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation in Light Porcelain
Although I have the tinted moisturisers in my makeup bag I am a foundation girl at heart and if I’m having a bad skin day or need a confidence boost I will reach for a foundation. This one is actually really good, it offers a demi matte finish so you aren’t shiny but you’re not matte either, it lasts really well on my skin and the colour match makes me look flawless as well.

Avon Ideal Flawless Matte Mousse Foundation in Ivory
You may be wondering why I have four base products in my bag and I know it’s definitely odd, but I have a smidgen of this left which I’m trying to use so I can add this to my empties. I do like this but it’s heavy so you only need a small amount and it looks awful on bare skin so I use this on any trouble areas over the top of foundation just to really help smarten up my skin.

Collection Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Concealer in Fair
I’ve nearly used this up and will be replacing it with another concealer I have in my stash, but this is one of my staple products. I love the texture, the finish and how it conceals blemishes and works under my eyes. This is actually a repurchase.

Avon Morph Tones in Range of Rose
I was getting a little bored with the whole bronzer shebang and after using this I fell in love. This is actually a little duo with a creamy white highlight on one side and a metallic dark rose cream product on the other side. I thought that the rose shade would be too dark as a blush for me however, I tried this as a contour and I like it. Metallic rose may sound strange as a contour but it actually works on my fair skin especially when it’s blended right in and adds a nice glow. The highlight is very pretty too and I like to dab this onto the high points of my face namely my cheekbones.

Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Transparent
I have very unusual skin it’s combination but I only really get oily on my chin, I’m on the drier side with redness on my cheeks and I have sensitive skin as well. I use a very light dusting of this on my face when I’ve finished with my makeup (unless I use the moisturisers) just to help to set my makeup and make it last longer.

Sleek Blusher in Rose Gold
I have so many blushers but this is one of my favourites and I thought it would be nice to dig this back out of my stash and to use now it is spring. This is a dupe for the infamous Nars Orgasm and adds a lovely coral and gold shimmer to my face which warms my face up and brightens my complexion.

Lips
Nivea Lip Butter in Caramel Creme
I’ve very nearly finished this lip butter and although it was nice I’m definitely a little bored with this, especially when I have so many fruity delights in my lip drawer. I’ve nearly done with this so I’m trying to use the last little bit up.

Topshop Lips in Wicked
So I know it’s spring and this is when everyone cracks out the nudes and pale pinks, but I was trialling this raspberry pink lipstick and it’s just so amazing I can’t stop using it. My full review of this is coming up this week but let’s just say that the formula and the shade both rock.

So that is what I have in my makeup bag at this moment in time, if you enjoyed this post please hit the like button and let me know in the comments what you have floating around in your makeup bag at the moment.

Thanks for reading.
love x nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s in my makeup bag? #1

  1. would love to see your review on the essence 3D eyeshadows I see them all the time when Im in primark but never pick them up because I’m skeptical! do you find the sleek brow kit good? I was also thinking on getting it but heard mixed reviews Im a hue sleek gal but was a little hesitant to pick it up? loved your post would love it if you checked out my latest post its a review x

  2. Great post! To come to think of it, I dont think I’ve done a what’s in my makeup bag post! 😯 prob do one soon though! You have some great products in yours! 👍💕

Leave a Reply

