Illamasqua Lipstick in Kontrol Review

I’ve raved about the Illamasqua Lipstick in Kontrol so many times on my blog and have even named it my favourite lipstick at times so it only made sense that I reviewed it, right? I’ve finally gotten around to talking about this product in full and hopefully you guys will love it as much as I do.
lipstick
So here is the packaging of the product which I absolutely LOVE. The square, boxy packaging is incredibly sleek, sophisticatd and luxurious and the logo of the brand is quirky reinforcing the brand’s ethos. These lipsticks are definitely not cheap at £18.50 per lipstick for aren’t that much more than a MAC lipstick and Illamasqua offers a lot more unique colours.

In terms of the colour this is a blue toned violet which in my eyes has a slight greyish tinge to it which is what makes it so different from a bog standard purple lipstick and it is unlike any other purple lip product that I have tried (and I have tried a LOT of purple lipstick.)

Although the formula is creamy enough to prevent it from really dragging or having a poor colour payoff, this is on the drying side so I would recommend exfoliating your lips and keeping them hydrated if you plan on wearing this on a regular basis.
Kontrol
The quality of this lipstick is high with it being a stunning colour and excellent formula however there is one downside to it.

This is a very high maintenance lipstick and you MUST top it up regularly throughout the day because when it fades it can flake leaving patches of pink which are extremely obvious. I think if I could change one this about this lipstick I would have it stain the lips rather than flake, I don’t remember having such a problem with their red lipstick Sangers so I think it must be because of the intense colour. Also, this does have the tendency to cling to the lips especially around the outside so when taking this off you will probably need a decent cleanser or a makeup wipe at the very least. Having said that I can deal with regularly applying for such a unique colour.

Apart from that I do love this lipstick and I save it for special occasions unless I can be bothered topping up all day. If regularly applying lipstick doesn’t bother you and you love the kookier colours of lipsticks then I’d definitely recommend this to you.

The Illamasqua Lipstick in Kontrol is available here for £18.50

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments what is the boldest lipstick you own and if you have tried any of the lipsticks by Illamasqua. I own the shades Fetish, Kontrol and Sangers but I love the look of Disciple and am thinking of getting that next.

Thanks for reading.
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Illamasqua Lipstick in Kontrol Review

  1. rachelhailesx says:

    I REALLY WANT DISCIPLE. BEEN AFTER IT FOR AGES. IT’S SUCH A GORGEOUS COLOUR!

Leave a Reply

