Ten Lipsticks Under Ten Pounds

I love lipstick and I have a rather large collection featuring both high and low end brands in an array of shades. I love lip butters, crayons, glosses, balms, lacquers and stains but it’s lipstick that truly holds a place in my heart and so I thought I’d pick ten of my favourites to share with you. Better yet they’re all under ten pounds.
top ten lipsticks

Number One: Barry M Genie Lipstick £4.49 (here)
Colour:
Hot Pink
settled
When I think of Barry M I have to admit the first thing that springs to mind for me is their excellent range of nail polish, however I picked up the Barry M Genie Lipstick on a whim and I actually really like it. I expected this to be very dry but this is surprisingly moisturising, it has an apple scent and despite the green colour of the lipstick it alters to your lips to create your own bespoke shade of pink. This may seem gimmicky but the retro packaging isn’t the only thing I’ve fallen in love with, the formula is awesome too.

Number Two: Essence Long Lasting Lipstick in No 7 Natural Beauty £2.30 (here)
Colour: Neutral Pink
100_5446
I’ve loved this lipstick for the longest time and it seems that Amelia Liana has recently discovered it for herself as well. This is has a creamy formula that just glides onto the lips without dragging or clinging to any dry patches. It’s a lovely shade that just adds a subtle pigment to your lips which I just love. For those MAC lovers out there, my research shows that this appears to be a dupe of MAC Syrup.

Number Three: L’oreal Colour Riche Lipstick in Plum Passion £8.19 (here)
Colour: Deep Raspberry Pink
l'oreal plum passion
I’m not the biggest fan of this formula to be completely honest, I found that after a few uses it seemed to be quite drying and annoyingly it’s loose in the bullet as well, but, having said that, I adore the colour of this lipstick. It’s a deep fuschia pink that looks amazing in the colder seasons. I can wear it alone of I can apply my Maybelline Colour Sensational Lip Gloss in Stellar Berry over the top if I feel like some extra shine.

Number Four: MUA Lipstick in Shade 1 £1.00 (here)
Colour: Dark Red
mua shade 1
I find that this is great for those who want to try out red shades but aren’t necessarily comfort with the bright crimson shades that most brands seem to offer. This has a satiny finish that sits comfortably on the lips and adds a touch of glamour to any outfit.

Number Five: Natural Collection Moisture Shine Lipstick in Cherry Red £1.99 (here)
Colour: Bright Red
Cherry Red
If you are perfectly comfortable in wearing a bright red lip then this is a lipstick that I would definitely recommend. This does have a satin finish making it a very moisturising formula but when paired with a red lip liner this stays on for ages and doesn’t feather, smudge or bleed. I do have a matte red by Illamasqua in the shade Sangers which is lovely but the shade of this is pretty much identical.

Number Six: Natural Collection Moisture Shine Lipstick in Pink Mallow £1.99 (here)
Colour: Pale Peachy Pink
This is one lipstick that has become a cult favourite in the beauty world for Natural Collection lovers and with good reason. This is again very moisturising but the colour is a really lovely peachy pink, light enough for spring but with enough warm undertones to prevent it from being a “granny lipstick.”

Number Seven: No7 Stay Perfect Lipstick in Classic Rose £9.95 (here)
Colour:
Classic Rose Pink
classic rose
This is only just within the ten pounds mark but this is probably the most luxurious formula out of all of these lipsticks. Again this glides onto the lips adding a lovely dusky rose shade that’s not too dissimilar from the Essence Lipstick I mentioned earlier. This is really soft and smooth and feels much more expensive and indulgent than in actually is in terms of price.

Number Eight: Rimmel London Moisture Shine Lipstick in Plumful £6.49 (here)
Colour:
Brick red.
plumful
Sadly this shade is no longer available in high street stores however it is widely available online and in wholesale stores and I love the range so much that I just have to mention it. So the shade of this is a deep brick red with leaning more towards the brown side which is great for a vampy look. In terms of the formula this is great, it is hydrating, it’s smooth and silky on the lips and doesn’t drag or feather everywhere. Just talking about this is making me want to dig this out of my stash.

Number Nine: Seventeen Mirror Shine Lipstick in Beehive £4.79 (here)
Colour:
Peach Nude
This is a sheerer lipstick so if you love the bold shades and hate the nudes then this isn’t for you, but I find this is a great low maintenance lipstick that fades evenly and coats my lips in a sheer peach colour. This is more sheer and less creamy than a MAC formula but this does make a good alternative to MAC’s Pure Zen Lipstick.

Number Ten: Seventeen Mirror Shine Lipstick in Belle £4.79 (here)
Colour:
Pink Nude
This is very similar to Beehive, so much that if it wasn’t so budget friendly I wouldn’t own both shades. This is another sheer nude colour however this is more pink toned which is great if you find that warm tones wash you out or make you look ill. Again this is very hydrating and creamy and great if you don’t have time to regularly top up your lipstick throughout the day.

So there we have it, my ten lipsticks under ten pounds and I can happily recommend each one of them. If you enjoyed this post please hit the like button and let me know in the comments some of your favourite lipsticks that are under ten pounds.

Thanks for reading.
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

