Montagne Jeunesse Face Food Orange Oil and Vitamin E Face Mask Review

When I saw double sachets of Face Food Face Masks in Savers I was super excited and picked up two seperate flavours. I reviewed the Cucumber and Apple Mask previously and saved the Orange Oil and Vitamin C Mask for later. Unfortunately these are made by Montagne Jeunesse a skin care brand that tends to irritate my skin. Having not having a major reaction to the Cucumber Mask I thought that the Orange Oil Mask would be fine too, but alas, how wrong I was. Here’s my review on this mask and why I won’t be purchasing from Face Food or Montagne Jeunesse again.
orange-oil-face-food
*Photo taken from official website, copyright and credit goes to Montagne Jeunesse*
Similar to the last mask I reviewed from this brand, this mask also came with twin sachets stuck together giving me two uses for a pound. Obviously this is pretty budget friendly but as I can get a full tube of the Beauty Formulas Face Masks for the same price it isn’t the cheapest option out there. I have to admit the packaging sucked me in, the natural colours and fruity images led me to believe that these would be natural and gentle on the skin.

I’ll start with the scent of this mask. I was expecting a really nice zesty orange scent that would really lift my senses but this was disgusting. I always hated Calpol and other flavoured medicines as a child, the sweet, sickly scent just makes my stomach turn and lo and behold when I squeezed the product out of the sachet the scent hit me. A vile, stomach turning sickly orange scent that reminded me of Nurofen. Bleugh.

Apart from the scent the consistency of the product was a orange tinted, syrup like, sticky thing that I applied to my face and it dripped from my nose looking absolutely gross. Still I forced myself on and prayed that despite the disappointing scent and horrible texture that this mask would make my skin nice.

After leaving the mask on for fifteen to twenty minutes like the instructions said, my face began to feel tight and when I moved my face muscles, the mask essentially burst and the product began hanging off of my face in glue like strands. I peeled off the mask and it actually hurt and really tugged at my skin, afterwards my face was red but I also had bright red lines across my face which really was nasty, also my face went itchy and you guessed it, I broke out.

My face felt awful until I applied my Nivea Moisturiser which cooled down my skin, my skin looked blotchy but faded mostly by the morning. This is the second or third time I’ve had a bad experience with Montagne Jeunesse. I thought that the name “Face Food” was the brand, it wasn’t until I checked the back of the sachet that I spotted the Montagne Jeunesse logo making my heart sink.

I do have sensitive skin, but I’ve been fine with cheap face masks before. Boots used to do a milk and honey one that was amazing and Beauty Formulas masks are great (except the Apricot peel off mask which is awful), I think that peel off masks just aren’t for me, and I especially wasn’t impressed with my experience.

Overall I’m disappointed, to me face masks are a luxury and pampering products that should leave me feeling great not sore or tight or anything like that. I won’t be using the other sachet and I won’t be repurchasing or recommending these masks, especially if you have allergy prone sensitive skin such as myself.

The Montagne Jeunesse Face Food Orange Oil and Vitamin C Face Mask is available here for 70p.

Have you tried any of the Montagne Jeunesse or Face Food Face Masks?

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have ever reacted to a skincare product and if so what it was.

Thanks for reading.
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Skincare and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Montagne Jeunesse Face Food Orange Oil and Vitamin E Face Mask Review

  1. Gr8 write up. But that sounded painful.

Leave a Reply

