Avon Ideal Flawless Matte Mousse Foundation Review

I was always curious about the idea of mousse foundations, but I’m sure you all remember the Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation and the horros that followed (think girls with orange cakey skin) and so I was very wary to try this formula of product, until my friend gave me the Avon Ideal Flawless Matte Mousse Foundation in Ivory. This is still available and so I thought it would be interesting to do a review on the product itself and my first impressions of a mousse product.
avon mousse foundation
Here is an image of the product and as you can see I have nearly used this up. Tje product comes in a glass jar with a black lid that screws off. I do find this quite bulky to store and the lid is looking pretty grubby so I’m not a huge fan of the packaging. The price of this product is £10.50 which I think is on the expensive side of drugstore and a little overpriced for this product.In terms of the formula this is strange, I apply this foundation with my Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge as I didn’t think fingers would work too well and I didn’t want to ruin one of my brushes by clogging it up with this. I think the sponge is a better way to apply it on evenly.

The mousse formula does cling to dry skin rather than glide over it which disappointed me and I did find that even with a sponge this cakes on so I always have to blend it in with my fingers after to prevent flakiness or cakiness. 

This disappointed me in the fact that despite such a thick consistency of product, when I apply this to bare skin it is horrible, so I do need to apply a thin layer of my Rimmel London Match Perfection Foundation underneath before applying this. 
rimmel foundation
(Me wearing my Rimmel London Foundation)

me with avon on
(Me wearing my Avon foundation over the top of the Rimmel foundation)

What does save this product from being a failure is the colour Ivory which actually matches my skin and goes on paler than it looks in the photo, and the fact that this has a beautiful matte finish and even coverage. No sweaty looking dewy face for me. 

This wears relatively well but does start to go a bit patchy towards the end of the day. I’m also not a fan of having to use another foundation underneath this one, to me it just kind of defeats the purpose really.

I wouldn’t repurchase this and despite the nice finish I wouldn’t recommend it simply because it’s too much of a faf especially if you are in a rush in a morning.

The Avon Ideal Flawless Matte Mousse Foundation is available here for £10.50.

Have you tried the Avon Ideal Flawless Matte Mousse Foundation?

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried a mousse foundation before and what you thought. P.S I’m sorry for the italics despite me repeatedly tapping ctl I and clicking the italics button to undo it for some reason it isn’t working.

Thanks for reading.
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Face and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

