My Makeup Story Tag

Since I was a girl I always loved makeup, I went through my tomboy phase then tried my mums hair serum (used way too much and had hair that you could cook eggs on), before exploring her old makeup I tried gloopy nail polishes, bright pink eyeshadow (fail) before I got into thick eyeliner and cheap flaky foundation. Nevertheless makeup quickly became part of my life and now at the age of twenty I’m here writing a blog about it, so I thought I’d share with you my makeup story.

1) How old were you when you started wearing makeup?
I was quite young when I first discovered it, as a child I love sticky lip balms, rollerball lip balms and cheap lipglosses. My mum likes to tell me a story of when I was super young (aged 3) and on Christmas day I plastered my lips with nail polish. (Fail). I fully started wearing it in year six and regularly wore it on from there I was around eleven when I fully got into it.

2) How did you get into makeup?
My mum has a plastic basket with her nail polishes, hair products and makeup bag. She’d let me paw through it and use the stuff she didn’t use herself. To me it was a magical place I tried Avon Glimmersticks, Colourtrend Eyeshadows and Dark Lipsticks. She’d pluck my eyebrows and then I’d teach myself, I had a styling head as a child where she taught me how to braid.

3) What are some of your favourite brands?
For me it fully depends on the products but I like Rimmel London, L’oreal, Barry M, Illamasqua, Topshop and MAC to name a few. I love most brands.

4) What does makeup mean to you?
I’m not a makeup artist but makeup plays a big role in my life. Throughout high school I got bullied so my makeup was my armour, with an eyeshadow or a lipstick I could change and morph into the person that I wanted to be. Now makeup is part of my identity, I can be bold with bright colours, sultry with vampy looks or natural with neutral tones. It’s an extension of my personality and a way to express myself.

5) If you could only wear 4 products on your face what would they be?
Foundation because I always hate the way my skin looks in a morning, Mascara because I’m so used to it it feels strange not to wear it. Powder is a must because without it my makeup fades and smears around and I love lipstick so that would be my favourite choice.

6) What is your favourite thing about makeup?
That I can use my face as a canvas and makeup as my art tools, I can create a full look, a fancy dress costume look, I can enhance and change whatever I like with the flick of a brush. I like the creativeness and that fact that I’m not restricted I can be who I want.

7) What do you think about drugstore makeup vs high end makeup?
High end is great for luxuries but drugstore makeup is my favourite, you can get more products for your money and if you don’t like them you’ve not wasted thirty pounds. Drugstore makeup is great for finding what you like and even finding great dupes of products that are just as good if not better than high end products. High end to me is an extension of my collection, it’s a treat and a luxury but not something that I need.

8) What is one tip of advice you can give to a beginner?
I recently did a post about my drugstore makeup starter kit and why we wear makeup. My tip would be to wear it because you want to not because you have to. Also to read beauty blogs and to discover what works for you not necessarily what is popular! One last thing that I learnt from my own experience when I was around eleven. If you decide to fake tan (I don’t) NEVER use all twenty five tanning wipes on your arms. Just trust me on that one.

9) What is one makeup trend you never understood?
Either orange fake tan (why?) or dark lip liner and pale lipstick, I just do not understand.

10) What do you think about the beauty community on youtube?
From what I’ve gathered it seems great but I’m a blogger at heart so I’m going to discuss the blogging world. I was terrified when I started my blog I expected criticism and vain girls that looked down their noses and I was so wrong. I received a warm welcome and met and chatted to people who are truly wonderful. Everyone was so nice and kind and wanted to share their love of makeup too. I’m grateful to so many bloggers for welcoming me, it gave me confidence and it truly has shaped the person that I am today.

So that is it for this tag, if you enjoyed this post please hit the like button and let me know in the comments some of your answers to these questions.

As always thank you so much for reading.
I love you all.
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Tags and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

