Selena Gomez Makeup Tutorial

Ever since I first saw her acting in The Wizards of Waverly Place I’ve always admired Selena Gomez. Despite the pressures of being a child star and her public love life she’s always soldiered on and looked damn good whilst doing so, therefore it only seemed fitting that I recreate one of her looks. As much as I adore her vampy looks I’ve been doing a lot of them lately so I thought that I would challenge myself to create a natural and glowing “girl next door” look, I hope that you enjoy this post.
P.S – Just before I start this post I will be doing a question and answer this week on my blog, if you have any questions please comment below, tweet me @ninarossjournal or email me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com.
Teen Choice 2011 - Portrait Gallery
So this is a photo that I have taken from the internet of the lovely Selena Gomez (obviously I didn’t take this copyright goes to rightful owners) and I chose this photo from one of her 2015 photoshoots because she just looks healthy, glowy and happy and it’s a great look to wear.

Eye Makeup
eyemakeup
I used four products to create the eye makeup look. She is wearing a smokey look but because the rest of the look is quite warm I didn’t want to be using greys and blacks for the eyes so I opted to do a smokey neutral look.

I started with my MUA Heaven and Earth Palette and took the shade which is on the top row and second from the right across my entire lid. I used a few coats to build it up to be quite strong and swept it out to create a winged effect. I then used one of my favourite shadows from this palette which is on the far right and bottom row of the palette. I used this in my crease and outer corners.

I don’t currently have a liquid eyeliner that I love so I used my L’oreal Contour Kohl across my upper lash line and created a subtle flick, the kohl is less harsh so works much better with the shadows. I then used the same kohl across my lower waterline as well to really define the eyes. Next I used my Revlon Lash Potion Mascara on my upper and lower lashes to create a lovely finish. Finally (I did do this after my face makeup) I used my Rimmel London Professional Brow Pencil in Black Brown to fill in and shape my brows.
my eyes
Face Makeup
face products
I used a fair few products on my face but I really wanted to nail her glowing complexion. I started with my Rimmel London Stay Matte Primer just to even out the texture of my skin. This doesn’t actually makeup your face matte nor is it great at filling in pores but it does offer something for foundation to adhere to. I used my Rimmel London Match Perfection Foundation in Ivory with my Real Techniques Buffing Brush to cover my entire face, I built it up to a medium coverage rather than sheer and for any tricky parts such as under my eyes I used my Real Techniques Detailer Brush just to press the foundation into place.

Up next was concealer and I used my holy grail Collection Last Perfection Ultimate Wear Concealer in Fair under my eyes and on any blemishes. I used my Avon Concealer Brush for large areas such as my chin and then used my Real Techniques Detailer Brush for precise areas such as under my eyes. I apply my concealer by pressing it in rather than smearing it around, not only does it cover blemishes better but it prevents it from looking streaky or patchy.

To warm my face up I did a light contour using my Rimmel London Natural Bronzer and Real Techniques Contour brush then used any excess product on the brish to bring the warmth up to my temples and forehead. For highlight I used my MUA Undress Your Skin Highlighter in Iridescent Gold and using my Real Techniques Pointed Foundation Brush I applied this down the centre of my nose, above my cupids bow and onto my cheekbones. I used my Nars Blush in Orgasm across the apples of my cheeks however a great dupe is the Sleek Blush in Rose Gold which works just as well.

Lip Makeup
lip makeup
I don’t have a really great peachy pink lipstick so I used a combination of two products to create a creamy peachy lip. I used my Essence Long Lasting Lipstick in Natural Beauty and dabbed a thin coat of this onto my lips. Then to add the peachy tones I went over my lips with my Revlon Colourburst Lip Gloss in Bellini to create a really glossy peach lip.
my lips
Finished Look
end look
(Just had a shower so ignore wet hair please!)

So that is it for this tutorial, if you enjoyed this post please hit the like button and let me know in the comments what you think of this look.

Thanks for reading.
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Makeup Tutorials, Wearable Makeup and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

