Drugstore Makeup Starter Kit for Makeup Newbies

If you are reading this post and are not either a regular follower of my blog or someone who adores makeup I’m going to assume that you are someone new to the world of makeup looking to build your own collection and kit. In that case let me welcome you with a congratulations, a montage of products, colours, splendid packaging and exquisite names awaits you, you have much excitement and choice ahead of you, and of course I’m here to help.

Before I go onto the kit I first want to address why you are wanting to wear makeup. When I was a teenager I believed that I was ugly so I would cake on the cheap pale foundation and heavy eyeliner to protect myself. If you are wanting to experiment then I would definitely encourage you, makeup can be your identity which is so much fun. If you are wearing makeup for anyone other than yourself though I would advise against it, wear it because it makes you happy and because you want to not because you have to. Now on that note onto the makeup kit.
makeup starter kit
Eye Makeup
I’m going to start with eye makeup and first I’m going to talk eyeshadows. I love eyeshadows they can change up a look or really enhance your eyes. First up is a palette which I think is amazing. Palettes are great because you get many eyeshadows which you can use on their own or together to create different looks. I also think eyeshadow crayons are great for beginners, with these you just run them over your lid and then rub it in with your finger and then you are. Both are easy to work with and have a lovely finish, the two ones I’d recommend are:
MUA Heaven and Earth Palette £4.00 at Superdrug
Rimmel London Scandaleyes Shadow Sticks £4.49 each at Boots
Up next is mascara but I’m not going to tell you which ones are the best because mascara is subjective. This depends entirely on your lashes, do you want them longer? Do you want them thicker? Or do you want them curlier? I would recommend the Essence Mascaras which are stocked at Wilkos because they are all priced around the four pounds mark and there are lots of different ones so you can look at the brush models and choose one that you want to try.
Essence Mascaras £4 at Wilkinson.
If you must wear an eyeliner although I don’t think you need one  when you are starting out with them, I would avoid brightly coloured or dark ones because until you have got used to it, it will be messy. I really like the Rimmel London Scandaleyes eyeliners, the nude one is great for day wear and if it ends up messy it’s flesh coloured so its great for practising.
Rimmel London Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal £3.99 at Boots.
Face Makeup
I’ve skipped over primer because my favourite ones are the most expensive and quite frankly I don’t think that they are an absolutely necessity, so I’m going to go onto Foundation and BB Creams. This is a tricky category because there are so many different brands and finishes but my favourites are by Rimmel London, not only are they budget friendly but they offer great quality products. Up first is the Rimmel London Match Perfection Foundation, this has more coverage than a BB Cream so this is good if you need a heavier coverage. I also love the Rimmel London BB Creams because they’re lightweight and easy to apply.
Rimmel London Match Perfection Foundation £6.99 at Boots.
Rimmel London BB Cream Matte £6.99 at Boots.
I personally don’t think that bronzers and highlighters are necessary for a beginner, but if you want to warm up your face or make it look slimmer then they can be useful. I really like the Astor Bronzer which is pale but can still be used for contouring and the MUA highlighters which you can just dust on your cheekbones.
Astor Deluxe Safari Bronzer in 002 Safari Fever £4.00 (online)
MUA Undress Your Skin Highlighters £4.00 (superdrug)
Blusher is always a nice thing to have just to add life and prevent you from looking ill or pasty. In the photo I have the Essence Silky Touch Blusher but I also really like the Natural Collection blushers which are cheap and not too light or dark.
Natural Collection Blushed Cheeks £1.99 (boots)
Powder is a must for me to set my makeup and if you have oily skin it’s great for setting your makeup and preventing you from looking cakey. I like the Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Transparent which is a universal tone. It’s invisible or very light yet it works really well.
Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder £3.99 (boots)
Lip Makeup

Onto lips and I think that tinted lip balms are a great way to stay out, Maybelline offer the Baby Lips or Baby Lips Electros which smell nice and add a hint of colour to your lips. The Collection Cream Puffs are nice too you simply brush on and have a matte lip colour for the rest of the day. If you really are thirsting to try a lipstick then try either MUA lipsticks which are only a pound at Superdrug or the Natural Collection Moisture Shine Lipsticks which are £1.99. Both are great quality and low price.
Maybelline Baby Lips £2.99 (Boots or Superdrug)
Collection Cream Puff Lip Creams £2,99 each (Boots or Superdrug)
MUA Lipsticks £1.00 (Superdrug)

Natural Collection Moisture Shine Lipsticks £1.99 (Boots.)

So that is it for this post if you enjoyed it please hit the like button and let me know in the comments if you think that these are good picks for a beginner or if you have tried any of these products.

Thanks for reading.
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Drugstore Makeup Starter Kit for Makeup Newbies

  1. rachelhailesx says:

    This is a great post and mentions a lot of products that I’ve found to be the best too! When i first started out with make-up i couldn’t find a foundation light enough for my pale skin. Brands claim that ‘Ivory’ is the lightest and i’ve finally realised that it isn’t. The best foundation I’ve ever used is the one that you’ve mentioned, the Rimmel London Match Perfection in ‘Light Porcelain’ NOT ‘Ivory’. I wish I’d had something like this to tell me the cheapest and best products when i was younger. It would have saved a lot of time, money and orangeness! 🙂 xx

    • Thank you! Oh lord the mistakes I used to make when I was a kid, black liquid eyeliner on my entire eyelid and underneath, cheap whte flaky foundation no brow products and dark lipstick was not a good look!

Leave a Reply

