Reverse Washing Does it Work?

Although it’s been a while since the trend first began I’ve been intrigued by the idea of reverse washing and so in the name of my blog I decided to trial this method of washing my hair for a week to see what I thought and if it really works. I hope that you enjoy this post.

What is reverse washing?
So as the name suggest reverse washing does involve switching up your routine a little bit. The idea is to apply your conditioner before applying your shampoo, allowing it to sink in and then rinsing it off with shampoo.

Why would you want to start reverse washing?
The idea of reverse washing claims to be amazing for fine hair (which my hair is) and promises to give the look of a lot more volume leaving your hair looking like you have had a professional blow dry without having to invest in expensive products. A lot of articles on this theory have shown women claiming that this is an amazing routine and that it drastically works.

So what did I think?
In all honesty I wasn’t a fan of reverse washing. It does feel strange applying conditioner before shampoo but I gave it a go by wetting my hair first, applying the conditioner and then leaving it on whilst I shaved and washed before rinsing it off with shampoo and making sure all of the product was out of my hair.

My Results.
My hair didn’t seem to be that much more voluminous but it definitely was more frizzy and the thing that I really didn’t like was that it left my hair incredibly dry. My hair is quite dry anyway because I do colour it a lot so anything that makes it drier is a no go for me. After doing further research I also found that over time Reverse Washing can damage your hair which makes sense because although you are getting all of the product out the conditioner is being washed away straight away by the shampoo.

My Verdict.
So overall I wasn’t a fan of this and didn’t feel like it was worth the hype and attention it got. I think if I want volume that bad I’ll just stick with my Charles Worthington Texturising Spray rather than dryiny my hair out to save a few pounds.

Have you tried Reverse Washing? What’s your opinion on it?

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button. Let me know in the comments if you have tried Reverse Washing or if you would give it a go.

Thanks for reading.
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Hair and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reverse Washing Does it Work?

  1. Kaily says:

    I’ve never heard of this reverse washing business and I’m GLAD! LOL it doesn’t sound pleasant.

  2. Pingback: My Reverse Washing Experiment | Tresemme Beauty-Full Volume Review | Nina Ross Beauty

Leave a Reply

