Thea Skincare Coffee and Shea Body Scrub Review

I stumbled across the brand Thea Skincare a while ago on Twitter and was lucky enough to get to products sent to me for consideration. I’ve been using the body scrub and have now finally used it up and thought it was high time for a review. I hope that you enjoy this post.
Disclaimer: This product was a PR sample.
100_5451

I’ll start with the price point and packaging. First of all the pots are quite small, if you compare them to sizes of full sized body scrubs such as The Body Shop then these are minute in comparison meaning that you don’t get a lot of uses out of them. Price point wouldn’t be too bad if you could buy the product on it’s own but sadly you can only purchase this scrub as part of the coffee trio body set which is priced at £29.95 which works out just short of ten pound for product which I personally think is pricey for such small pots. The package did come in a lovely purple organza bag which I thought was a nice touch.

In terms of the smell this was very strong and very bitter. If you are a coffee lover then this is great but if not then you probably won’t get on with this because the scent is very harsh. I don’t mind coffee I don’t drink it but love the smell so I wasn’t too bothered about this scent.

100_5452

This is the product description as stated on the official website:
This luxurious scrub combines the richness of a butter scrub with the exfoliation of coffee and salts. This butter scrub melts when it comes in contact with the skin, making it easy to use and leaving your skin feeling revived and renewed.

I’m not generally a negative person but I am honest and I have many qualms with this description. First of all I’ll discuss the formula. This is so dry that it is literally like scooping out a handful of sand and grit and this crumbled everywhere. I’m talking all over my bathroom, bath and just generally created an absolute mess which I was so annoyed at. Secondly it did not melt into my skin at all, I ended up rinsing off and watching it all go down the drain and ended up praying that it would not block my drain. Seriously? That is plain annoying.

I didn’t find this rich nor buttery, it was dry, it was abrasive and for someone like me with sensitive skin this actually left my legs sore. My main issue was that this needed more liquid to make it more gel or cream like rather than like a pot of grit. Granted yes my skin was lovely and soft afterwards but I’m pretty certain a body scrub is supposed to just remove dead skin and I’ve never felt pain or soreness after using another scrub of exfoliant.

This is all natural and claims to be organic which is great but this is not easy to use, it’s not buttery and I certainly wouldn’t describe this as “luxurious” or a “spa” worthy product. I didn’t mind this and I am aware that I’m probably sounding very angry but I could not use this in a morning simply because it’s so messy and I was disappointed with this especially after reading a press release which hailed the creator of these products and went on to describe how amazing they are. I wouldn’t recommend this and I wouldn’t repurchase this either.

The Thea Coffee and Shea Body Scrub is available here as part of the Coffee Trio Body Set for £29.95.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button. Let me know in the comments if you have tried this and what your thoughts are.

Thanks for reading.
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Body and Fragrance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thea Skincare Coffee and Shea Body Scrub Review

  1. Aw what a shame you didn’t like your body scrub, I am loving the Thea Skincare brand at the moment, I have been lucky enough to have been sent quite a few products to review, all are facial skincare though and everything I tried is gorgeous. I haven’t tried the body care products yet, and the Coffee trio is one I wanted to try. x

    • A few people have raved about their body products but honestly I just think that theyre pants, I was sent this and sent the toning cream but dont really like either and the price is ridiculous. x

  2. I have never heard of Thea Skincare but this product sounds really great! (:

Leave a Reply

