Best in Beauty 2014

So it’s new years eve, and the three year anniversary for myself and my boyfriend and yet another year has ended, so what better way to mark it with a huge blog post dedicated to my 2014 beauty favourites? This probably will be a long post, so make sure you’re comfy before reading, but here are the products that have rocked my year.

Note: Some categories may be missed out simply because I haven’t had a favourite or the products I have used haven’t blown me away enough to gain a favourite status.

BEST FOUNDATION: L’oreal True Match Foundation and Rimmel London Match Perfection Foundation.
This year these two foundations have been the ones that have really stood out to me. The L’oreal True Match Foundation was an excellent match for both my skintone and my skin texture and had excellent coverage and the Rimmel London Match Perfection Foundation has just been a rock that I’ve repurchased and relied on whenever I’ve wanted something that I know works for my skintone.

BEST PRIMER: Benefit Porefessional
I have tried a lot of primers this year but one that really stood out and worked really well on my was the Benefit Porefessional. This erased pores, made my blemishes look less angry and provided a smooth and even base before I applied my foundation.

BEST COLOUR CORRECTOR: Clinique Redness Solutions Daily Corrective Base
I absolutely adored this and it was well worth the pound that I paid at a Car Boot Sale for it. This contained SPF and had a green tinge which counterracted any redness I had, this was great for days when I felt ill or had huge red splotches and it worked every time.

BEST CONCEALER: Collection Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Concealer and Maybelline Fit Me Concealer.
I loved both of these concealers, the Collection offering is a cult favourite and was neither too runny or too thick yet managed to conceal both my blemishes and my under eye circles. The Maybelline offering was slightly runnier and did crease slightly but was a great alternative to the Collection version and lasted longer.

BEST BLUSHER: Sleek Blush in Rose Gold and Nars Blush in Orgasm
Both of these rocked my year and yet both are very similar. The Sleek offering is much cheaper and was great for an every day coral cheek whereas my Nars blusher was reserved for special occasions or when I wanted to look and feel great and was excellent quality.

BEST BRONZER: Astor Deluxe Bronzer in 002 Safari Fever
I’m pretty sure that this has been my lover ever since I bought it. This is great for contouring or just warming up the face and it is the first bronzer I have found that is suitable for pale skin as it is neither too muddy nor too orange or too pale. I love this and it is well worth the four pounds that it retails for.

BEST HIGHLIGHTER: Fuschia Candle Glow Highlighter in Pearly Pink and the MUA Undress Your Skin Highlighters in Pink Shimmer and Iridescent Gold.
The Fuschia Candle Glow highlighter was sent to me as a pr sample but I just fell in love. This is a liquid highlighter and it is great for applying to my cheekbones without disturbing my foundation or base makeup. I still have tons left of the small sample because a little really does go a long way, this is excellent quality. The MUA Undress Your Skin Powder Highlighters also have a special place in my heart after I tried them and consequently fell in love. These are powder highlighters for those who don’t like cream or liquid products and these just glide onto the skin and add a beautiful shimmer. These are also really budget friendly at only three pounds per pop.

BEST POWDER: Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder
This is literally the only powder that I have used all year and I’m still absolutely in love with it. This helps to banish the shine, reduce any oiliness, set my make up and keep me looking matte all day long without looking cakey. This is only priced at £3.99 and I’ve repurchased it before. I absolutely love this.

BEST EYESHADOW PALETTE: BH Cosmetics 88 Shimmer Eyeshadow Palette, Rimmel London Glam Eyes Quad Eyeshadow in 001 Smokey Noir and MUA Heaven and Earth Palette.
There are three winners for this category but I love all three palettes for different reasons. My BH Cosmetics palette is amazing for when I’m creating a look and need a specific colour of eyeshadow because this always has a colour that I can use. My Rimmel London Quad is amazing for creating a smokey eye and I just love it, the shadows are also really buttery and pigmented. My MUA Heaven and Earth Palette has been my go to palette in both autumn and winter just because of the stunning neutral shades that aren’t matched by any of my other eyeshadows.

BEST MASCARA: Benefit They’re Real, L’oreal Telescopic and Revlon Lash Potion by Grow Luscious.
Again I have three products in this category but a year is a long time so I can’t just narrow it down to just one. I really enjoyed the Benefit They’re Real mascara that I had it does a great job and lengthening, volumising and seperating although it is expensive. The L’oreal Telescopic Mascara was also amazing I had the gold tubed version which had a curved brush, the plastic bristles really let me get into the root of my lashes and added amazing length, curl and volume. Finally is a more recent discovery which is the Revlon Lash Potion by Grow Luscious this is a fibre brush with a huge brush this is great for really packing on the volume in only one coat. I love this and it is a firm favourite.

BEST EYELINER: Rimmel London Scandaleyes Kohl in Nude
This eyeliner wasn’t one that I would have usually gone for but the bloggersphere kept raving about this so I picked it up. This is lovely and creamy and does a great job at brightening my eyes and making them look larger.

BEST EYEBROWS: Sleek Brow Kit in Dark
I’ve tried a few different products but the one that really stood out and I have used daily has been the Sleek Brow Kit in Dark. I’ve mentioned this a lot of times on my blog but it’s really versatile and great at either natural or dramatic brows.

BEST LIPSTICK: Illamasqua Lipstick in Kontrol, MAC Creamsheen Lipstick in Pure Zen and Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Volupte Shine in Violet Incognito.
One of my firm lipstick loves this year was the Illamasqua Lipstick in Kontrol which was introduced to me by my friend Rachel, this is a really unusual shade and I just love it. MAC’s Lipstick in Pure Zen was the perfect nude for me. I was trying to find a nude that wasn’t too brown or pale and this one is just lovely. Yves Saint Laurent’s Rouge Volupte Shine Lipstick in Violet Incognito was the first luxury lipstick I bought and it’s lovely, it looks lovely, smells great and feels great on the lips.

BEST LIPGLOSS: Maybelline Colour Sensational Lip Gloss in Stellar Berry
I’m not a huge lip gloss lover but this one by Maybelline is really nice, it’s not too sticky but is moisturising on the lips. It smells like the strawberry chocolate quality street and it is a beautiful berry shade.

BEST LIP LACQUER/CREAM: Collection Cream Puff in Cotton Candy
I remember picking this up purely out of curiosity and it’s really nice. It smells like vanilla, stays put all day and adds a beautiful pink shade to my lips. There has been many a time where I have just slicked this on knowing that my lips would look nice all day.

BEST LIP BUTTER: Revlon Lip Butter in Wild Watermelon
This year a lot of people have raved about the Revlon Lip Butters so I picked up the shade Wild Watermelon and I’ve nearly used up the entire tube. This adds a sheer wash of colour which can be layered up for a more bold lip. This is a really nice bright, pinky red and it looked lovely all summer, better yet it’s really hydrating as well.

BEST LIP CRAYONS: Revlon Colourburst Matte Balms
I did try the original Clinique Chubby Sticks but hated them so I didn’t expect to like these but wow they really are great. I have two shades in Elusive and Shameless and both are beautiful colours, that are easy to apply and just glide onto the lips for an instant bold lip. I really love these and definitely want to purchase more.

BEST LIP BALM: Maybelline Baby Lips in Cherry Me
It’s not often that I used up an entire lip balm despite having a ton of them in my makeup stash, but the Maybelline Baby Lips in Cherry Me was a winner for me. It smelled great, hydrated my lips and added a pop of colour that didn’t smudge or bleed everywhere. A lot of people don’t like these but I just love them

BEST NAIL POLISH RANGE: Barry M Gelly Hi Shine Nail Paints
I love nail polish and have more than a few brands in my collection but the Barry M Gelly Hi Shine Nail Paints is one range that I will always return to. I have at least four shades but something about the pretty colours, longevity and glossy finish just appeals to me and I’ve been really impressed.

BEST TOP COAT: Seche Vite Top Coat
I’m yet to do a review on this on my blog but since I purchased it back in the summer I have used it every time I have painted my nails. I love the glossiness it adds to my nails and it really increases the longevity of my polish. These is the best of the top coats in my opinion.

BEST MOISTURISING: Nivea Refreshingly Soft Moisturising Cream
I always switch up my skincare but this moisturiser was good enough that I repurchased a larger size of it and used that up as well. This is really lightweight and really moisturising without being greasy. This is gentle enough for my sensitive skin and it is budget friendly.

BEST SERUM: Espa Optimal Skin Pro Serum and Lancome Genifique Youth Activating Concentrate.
I have two products for this category mainly because both have been absolutely amazing. The Espa serum was sent to me as a sample but I quickly fell in love with the herbal scent and how only a few drops would leave my skin feel really soft and supple. I also have a sample of the Lancome Genifique Youth Activating Concentrate and this has also been really hydrating without being greasy and a little really goes a long way. I was really impressed with both of these.

BEST FACE MASK: Beauty Formulas Cool Moist Cucumber 3 Minute Clay Mask
This has been my go-to face mask all year, it’s hydrating, it’s inexpensive, it smells great and it’s really cooling and soothing on my face. This is great whenever I have dry skin and always leaves my skin really soft and supple. This is another repurchased item.

BEST PERFUME: The Body Shop Japanese Cherry Blossom Eau De Toilette
I love a good perfume and I received this as a Christmas gift last year and enjoyed it so much that I used up the entire bottle which is unlike me. This was really light and uplifting and was particularly great in spring. This isn’t a scent I would have chosen for myself but I ended up really enjoying it.

BEST BODY MIST: Ted Baker Butterfly Wings and The Body Shop Coconut Body Mist
Two body mists have made it into this category but I have literally used these two all year round. In spring and summer a firm favourite was the Ted Baker Butterfly Wings a really unusual floral scent that I really enjoyed using. The Body Shops Coconut Body Mist wasn’t too well loved at first but over time it really grew on me and I’ve been using it all autumn and winter.

BEST SOAP: The Body Shop Glazed Apple Soap
I’m not a huge soap person I much prefer liquid handwashes and shower gels however I got this soap free and I really like it. It lathers up really well and doesn’t dry out my skin and it smells absolutely amazing.

BEST BODY BUTTER: The Body Shop Almond Body Butter and Soap and Glory The Righteous Butter.
I love body butters and these two products really won me over. The Body Shop Almond Body Butter is really comforting and smells exactly like marzipan, bakewell tarts and battenberg, yum. The Soap and Glory Righteous Butter was a product that I didn’t expect to like and thought would be really sickly but I also ended up really enjoying the scent and the rich moisturising properties, both were amazing.

BEST HAIR TREATMENT: Argan Oil Hair Mask
This is only priced at a pound in both Poundland and Bodycare so I wasn’t expecting this to be great quality but it is actually really really nice. This is so cost friendly and leaves the hair smelling lovely and looking extremely soft and shiny.

BEST HAIR STYLING PRODUCT: Charles Worthington Volume and Bounce Texturising Spray.
After hating the L’oreal Salt Spray I was convinced that I’d never find a great product that would add texture to my hair, but the Charles Worthington Volume and Bounce Texturising Spray really blew me away. Two squirts of this, a quick ruffle and your hair literally doubles in size, I don’t know what more I could ask for, this is great.

BEST FINISHING HAIR PRODUCT: Toni and Guy Finishing Shine Spray
I love shine sprays as I do colour my hair a lot and am cautious of it drying out and looking dry and damaged but this little wonder smells great and it has kept my hair really shiny. I’m so impressed with this and am pretty gutted that it has been discontinued.

BEST HAIR DYES: La Riche Directions in Turquoise and Cerise
I love dip dyeing my hair and adding bright colours to the ends of my hair and two of my favourite shades Turquoise and Cerise are both from the same brand which is La Riche Directions, these add amazing colour and are the best quality bright colour hair dyes I have tried.

BEST TOOLS: Real Techniques Core Collection
The final category in my favourites is tools and I’ve fallen in love with the Real Techniques brushes after purchasing the Core Collection. These are great quality and make a huge difference in the finish and application of my makeup. I’m really impressed and will be picking up more brushes from this range.

So that is it for my yearly favourites, if you enjoyed this post please hit the like button and a happy new year to you all!
Thanks for reading.
Lots of love
Nina x

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Favourites and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best in Beauty 2014

  1. Ava says:

    Really cool post! I love how you share your top items for every section of makeup, really great idea. 😀

Leave a Reply

