Empties #5

So I’m back with another empties post and before you start reading this I do suggest that you settle down with a good cup of tea (or coffee if that’s your think) because I do have an impressive amount of products to get through. Nevertheless I hope that you enjoy this post.
100_5407

Palmolive Naturals Brilliant Colour Shampoo x2
I quite liked this shampoo and it did do a great job and washing and cleansing my hair but without stripping it off colour, however I can’t say that it did anything particularly spectacular. It was an improvement on my Alberto Balmsam Apple Shampoo but it didn’t blow me away, so I don’t think I’d bother to repurchase.
Repurchase: No

Boots Simply Sensitive Face Wipes
I do try to avoid face wipes because I find them to be quite stripping on my skin, but I’d ran out of cleanser so I used these as an emergency. Honestly they were no different to the other wipes that I’ve tried.
Repurchase: No

Garnier Simply Essentials Soothing Cleansing Lotion
I decided to give this a try when I ran out of my Nivea Daily Essentials 2 in 1 Cleanser and Toner, and whilst this was okay it was yet another product that just didn’t seem to do much. I am planning on investing in higher end skincare to see if it has a difference so I don’t think I’ll bother with this again.
Repurchase: No

Nivea Daily Essentials Toner
I do find that my skin is a lot better after I use a toner, and I recently picked this one up to try. I actually quite liked this it was easy to apply and did the trick and better yet it doesn’t break the bank. I will be trying some different toners but I’d definitely come back to this.
Repurchase: Yes

Nivea Soft Refreshingly Soft Moisturising Cream
I really enjoyed this moisturiser, it’s none-greasy and lightweight on the skin but always sinks in and keeps my dry skin at bay. This is suitable for even the most sensitive of skin and is really cost friendly as well. Love it.
Repurchase: Yes

ESPA Optimal Skin Pro Cleanser
I received this as a P.R sample and although it did do a good cleanse I wasn’t a fan of the exfoliating beads in it which I felt was a little too much for everyday use. This is a triple phase product and can be used as a cleanser, exfoliator or mask which I did find was an interesting concept, although it is very pricey which puts me off of repurchasing.
Repurchase: No

ESPA Optimal Skin Pro Serum
This was another product sent as P.R sample and I did really enjoy it. This had a really silky feel and hydrated my skin really well. I quite liked the herbal scent it had and how only a few drops would just sink into the skin beautifully. I would consider buying this again, but again it is a lot pricier so I will probably try a few other serums first.
Repurchase: Yes

Nivea Powerfruit Shower Gel with Goji Berry Scent, Vitamin C and Cranberry Extracts
This smelled absolutely amazing and it really lathered up well and left my skin feeling luscious. I don’t have too much to say about this but I did really enjoy it and would definitely repurchase.
Repurchase: Yes

Soft and Gentle Roll on Deodorant in Wild Rose and Vanilla
This is my go to deodorant as it smells delicious and always keeps me smelling fresh. I’ve repurchased this countless times and no doubt once I have used up my current one I will probably go and buy yet another one. I really do like this.
Repurchase: Yes

The Body Shop Japanese Cherry Blossom Eau De Toilette
I received this in a gift set from my nan last Christmas and it’s really nice. I do love the Body Shop scents and this smelled lovely, really floral, fresh, feminine and uplifting. This isn’t my all time favourite scent from The Body Shop (that would be glazed apple) but I would repurchase.
Repurchase: Yes

Avon Ideal Flawless Invisible Coverage Foundation in Ivory
One of my friends gave me this foundation after it didn’t work for her and so I didn’t have very high hopes for this but it actually really wasn’t that bad. I do think it could have been a bit lighter in tone but the coverage was good and I did like the finish. It wasn’t amazing enough to make me repurchase but I did enjoy this.
Repurchase: No

Maybelline Fit Me Foundation Anti Shine Stick in Ivory
This was another foundation I was given by a different friend who wasn’t a fan of this. I did think that this would be quite drying but the hydrating core meant that this just glided over the skin. I did find this a little thick and slightly dark for my skin, but I think fans of the Revlon Colourstay will really enjoy this. I haven’t repurchased but I would use it again.
Repurchase: No

Collection Cover Up Stick in Light Translucent
In terms of a concealer I don’t think this is creamy enough to effectively conceal blemishes and under eye circles however I did find that this is great for tackling redness before putting on a primer. If you suffer with redness then I’d definitely give this a go, I would use this again.
Repurchase: No

Collection Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Concealer in Fair
This concealer is loved my many including myself, I love using this for blemishes and under eye circles and is neither too creamy nor too thick. I really enjoyed this and can see me repurchasing this over and over.
Repurchase: Yes

Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in 003 Peach Glow
I did use this powder for a long time and I did really enjoy this. I have repurchased this but I’ve chosen the Translucent shade which I find is a lot less cakey and a lot more natural looking on the skin. I did enjoy this nevertheless and think that it is a great budget powder.
Repurchase: Yes

Collection Lasting Colour Gel Eyeliner in Black
I did pick this up for five pounds to try the whole gel eyeliner phase but I do find that it doesn’t stay put, has poor longevity and even worse it has dried up so I’m just throwing it away. I wouldn’t repurchase this simply because for a few pounds more you can get the Maybelline Gel Eyeliner which is hailed as an excellent dupe for the Bobbi Brown Longwear Gel Eyeliner, so I don’t think that this Collection offering is worth the money.
Repurchase: No

W7 Liquid Eyeliner in Black
I used this for a long time when I was younger simply because it only cost me 99p and was the cheapest liquid eyeliner out there but since trying better eyeliners I’ve found that I just don’t use this anymore. This one has pretty much dried up and I never finished it so I won’t bother repurchasing.
Repurchase: No

Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoo in Timeless Black
When I first tried the Maybelline Colour Tattoos I absolutely fell in love with the pigmented cream eyeshadows, but not far down the line and I’ve found that I am left with a pot of dried up gunk that is impossible to work with. I didn’t get chance to finish this because it dried up so I was really really disappointed.
Repurchase: No

Benefit They’re Real Mascara Mini
This was another product that I fell in love with when I first tried it, however since I’ve used this up I’ve tried mascaras that offer a lot more bang for your buck and are a lot cheaper (namely the Revlon Lash Potion) I wouldn’t repurchase this simply because this mini size is more expensive than a full sized drugstore mascara which I actually prefer.
Repurchase: No

L’oreal Telescopic Mascara in Black (gold tubed version)
I wasn’t really expecting much when my mum passed this down to me saying that she wans’t a massive fan of it but I actually really enjoyed it. The curved plastic brush was excellent at holding a curl, lengthening and seperating the lashes and the full tube lasting me a really long time. I was pleasantly surprised.
Repurchase: Yes

Mememe Sleek and Chic Lengthening Mascara
This mascara is probably the second worst mascara I have ever tried (the worst being a Technic one that was dried up brand new), this had a plain fibre brush with a plan shape, the formula was wet and almost clumpy and did nothing for my lashes to make them look nice at all. Worst of all the brush head snapped from the handle and I have no idea even now how it happened! This was awful and I would not recommend or use this again!
Repurchase: No!

Soap and Glory Archery Brow Tint and Precision Shaping Pencil in Brownie Points
When I first bought this I loved it but over time I found the brow tint to be too pale and to dry up really quickly, the pencil was too waxy and was way too ashy to create a natural looking brow. I really wasn’t a fan of this and do not get the hype.
Repurchase: No

Fuschia Makeup Brow Wax Splitz in Taupe Wax
This was another pr sample, I loved the Fuschia makeup except for this product. The wax was incredibly sticky and thick literally like glue which was really awful, the brush was synthetic, plasticy and way too stiff and the powder did not distribute evenly leaving my brows looking awful. Usually I would have passed this on but I don’t think anyone could get good use out of this so I’m binning it.
Repurchase: No

Maybelline Baby Lips in Cherry Me
I bought this a while ago and I’ve used the entire stick up. I really enjoyed this, it was moisturising, offered a lovely hint of colour too my lips and smelled really nice. A lot of people didn’t like the Baby Lips but I’m definitely on the love side of the fence with these and I would repurchase this.
Repurchase: Yes

I love…Coconut and Cream Glossy Lip Balm
I bought this a while ago but never used it much and now it smells funky so I’m pretty certain that is has expired. Originally this smelled eally nice and was moisturising but unfortunately it made my lips look white when I put it on rather than being clear which put me off of using it and then ended up expiring. I did like this at first but I don’t think I’d bother repurchasing.
Repurchase: No

So that is it for my empties, that was quite a long post! If you enjoyed this post please hit the like button and let me know in the comments if you have tried any of these products or what you have used up recently.

Thanks for reading.
Love x
Nina

 

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Empties #5

  1. Maria B says:

    You finished a lot of stuff! 😀 i need to get some babylips too 😀 xx

  2. themayfairy says:

    Oh wow, you use a lot of mascaras! I’m always loyal to one mascara at a time 😉

Leave a Reply

