Real Techniques Core Collection Review

When I first started using brushes (and by brushes I mean the ones that my mum passed down to me) I was bowled over by the difference in the finish and application of my makeup. For the first time my foundation was transformed from an uneven, patchy looking finish to a flawless finish that a celebrity would be proud of. I decided to invest in some makeup brushes and I turned to the Real Techniques Core Collection. I’ve been using these brushes for months now and they’ve quickly become a staple in my makeup collection so what better time to do a review.
real techniques core collection
(Left to right: Buffing Brush, Contour Brush, Pointed Foundation Brush, Detailer Brush)
The Real Techniques Core Collection is comprised of four brushes namely the Buffing Brush, Contour Brush, Pointed Foundation Brush and Detailer Brush. The brushes come in a plastic box and you are also given a panoramic case which is useful for travel. The Core Collection is priced at £21.99 which is pretty decent as you are paying roughly £5.25 per brush which is a bargain considering the quality of these.

In terms of quality the brushes are incredibly soft and easy to use. They feel great on the skin and work really well to ensure that your makeup applies smoothly and evenly. You can clean these easily and they don’t shed or fall apart.
buffing brush
(Real Techniques Buffing Brush)
The Buffing Brush has a round, fluffy head and is designed for you to buff makeup into the skin. I use this to apply my foundation as I find that it helps me get even coverage and a flawless finish. I do wish that this was a little denser so it would be easier to clean however this is nice and flexible and easy to move around the face.
contour brush
(Real Techniques Contour Brush)
The Contour Brush has a fluffy, domed shape to it which tapers out. I really like this because it is the perfect width for the hollows in the cheeks and is so easy to apply bronzer with. I apply my bronzer in circular movements with this brush to get a natural looking contour.
detailer brush
(Real Techniques Detailer Brush)
This is probably my least used brush just because it is so small in comparison to the others. This brush is designed to perfect small details of your face and I find this useful for patting in concealer particularly under my eyes. This is a little on the small side but is is a thin tapered brush useful for pinpointing areas of the face to perfect.
pointed foundation brush
(Real Techniques Pointed Foundation Brush)
As mentioned by the name this brush is aimed at foundation users. This is a flat and thin brush that is tapered. I find this very stiff and not very flexible to I actually prefer to use this for my highlighter on my cheekbones and I find that it works much better that way.

I’ve actually had these brushes since last summer and they are still just as amazing as when I first purchased them. I’ve just given them another clean and they are just as soft and fluffy as when I first purchased them.

Overall I really like these brushes and would definitely recommend them particularly to newbies to makeup. I find that these make a world of a difference and I don’t know how I ever managed to apply my makeup without them.

The Real Techniques Core Collection is available here for £21.99.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button. Let me know in the comments what brand (if any) you use for makeup brushes and if you would consider Real Techniques.

Thanks for reading.
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Face, Random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Real Techniques Core Collection Review

  1. plus+beauty27 says:

    Great post! I haven’t tried these brushes yet but am going to be getting their blending sponge in the mail sometime and I will definitely be reviewing that. 🙂 xo

  2. Erin says:

    I love these brushes too!

Leave a Reply

