Love or Loathe – Lip Art

It’s been a while since I did one of my love or loathe posts based on latest trends but when I saw lip art popping up everywhere I decided to give it a try and thought it would make an interesting post. Here’s my verdict.

I’ve never done lip art before so I used a combination of lipsticks and eyeliners. I think you should ensure that the products are always lip safe before using them (I didn’t which is probably a bit silly) but you probably don’t want to end up having a reaction. I decided to try three different looks using different products to get a feel for the trend.

Look One – Ombre Lip
ombre lip
The first look I tried was an ombre lip. It hasn’t translated very well in the photo but I used my Barry M Genie Lipstick to get a nice pink lip then a neon pink lip lacquer in the middle. I wasn’t really a fan and the combination of the dry texture of the lipstick then the sticky texture of the lacquer felt really strange.

Look Two – Black and Red Gradient Lips
black and red lip art
The next thing I tried was a gradient with red lips deepening to a black outline. Although the images I used for reference looked great online the combination of red lipstick and black felt tip liner looked awful on me and I ended up looking like Frank N Furter from The Rocky Horror Picture Show which was not a good look for me at all.

Look Three – Galaxy Inspired Lip Art
pink and blue lip art
The third lip art look I created was a galaxy inspired look, I used blue and pink liquid eyeliners from Barry M and although it looks cool it was a pain to do, very drying and my lips were stained blue for a while afterwards.

Overall I don’t think that the lip art trend is for my and I’d have to say that my verdict is loathe. I wouldn’t wear any of these looks outside and they were a real pain to try and do. I’m sorry to all of you lip art lovers out there but unfortunately this trend isn’t for me.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button. Let me know in the comments what you think of the lip art trend and where you would rock it.

Thanks for reading.
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love or Loathe – Lip Art

  1. Amber T. says:

    The galaxy lips look cool!

Leave a Reply

