Rate or Hate – A Face of First Impressions

This was going to be a video but at this point I think I’ve all but given up on my youtube channel, I love filming and editing but every time I buy batteries they’re dead so it’s either the batteries are bad batches or my camera requires too much power. Anyway I came up with this idea of creating a face of makeup using products that are sitting in my stash that I haven’t tried yet. These products are new to me and these are my first impressions, my opinion may change after more testing so these products will be reviewed in depth at some point but for now here’s my thoughts.

Eyes
eye makeup
eye products
Essence 3D Eyeshadow in 10 Irresistible Summer Sea RRP £1.50 (Link)
I am extremely impressed with this eyeshadow so far. I didn’t bother with an eye primer and this was incredibly pigmented and very buttery. The 3D section is slightly darker so I used that across my lid and the paler shade on my inner corners. I love the colour, the pigmentation and the shimmer in it and will definitely be looking into picking up more shades of these eyeshadows.
Verdict: Rate

Rimmel Kate Eyeshadow Stick in Electric Sapphire RRP £4.49 (Link)
I already have one of these shadow sticks from the Rimmel London Scandaleyes range and it’s a neutral shade which I love. Sadly I can’t say the same for this shadow stick at the moment. The colour is bold which I do like but it’s difficult to blend, difficult to apply to targeted areas such as the outer corners and I’m not massively impressed at the moment. I love the shadow sticks in the neutral shades but so far I’m not sold on the bolder colours which is a real shame.
Verdict: Hate

Revlon Lash Potion Mascara by Grow Luscious RRP £9.99 (Link)
I’ve heard good reviews about this but one look at the oddly shaped fibred brush made me wonder if this really was going to work for me, but I can gladly say it really does. This lengthened and volumised my lashes really well and better yet it separated them so they didn’t clump together. I really like the wet formula and this works really well for me.
Verdict: Rate

Face
face makeup
face products
Gosh Velvet Touch Line Perfector Unique Primer Product RRP £14.99 (Link)
I didn’t realise how expensive this primer actually is but thankfully it seems to be good quality. This is a white creamy product that has a silicone feel to it. When I applied this it definitely concealed and filled my pores but it also seemed to have a kind of blur effect my redness was concealed and my blemishes and spots seemed less prominent. I don’t know how this works but so far I really like it.
Verdict: Rate

The Body Shop Oil Free Balancing Foundation with SPF 15 RRP £15.00 roughly (Link)
This was quite thin so I applied this with a buffing brush. This did apply okay but this is the palest shade and it was still quite orange, even worse was that this oxidised so looked even more orange on me which wasn’t great. Although this offered a nice velvety finish at first throughout the day this looked cakey and heavy despite feeling lightweight. My main bug bear with this was that although it prevented excess oil it clung to any dryness that I had adding cakiness.
Verdict: Hate

Laura Geller Banish n Brighten Concealing Luminizer RRP £14.38 (Link)
This comes in a tube and has a little metal top with a hole in it so you can squeeze the product out. The metal does feel cooling on the eyes but I squeezed directly onto the brush so I could control the amount of product I was using. This didn’t conceal at all but it did add radiance although some could say almost a little too much radiance considering the foundation had a matte finish. The sad thing about this was that because the foundation was too dark the concealer looked a lot paler which made it stand out more. This also creased and sat into the fine lines under my eyes and I constantly had to keep patting my under eyes to prevent as much creasing as I could.
Verdict: Hate

Essence Blush Up Powder Blush in Heatwave RRP £3.50 (Link)
The colour of this blusher is unlike anything that I own in my blusher collection. This is a blend of orange and hot pink which fuses together to create a stunning summery colour. This was very pigmented so I only needed a little, but it blended into my cheeks seamlessly and added a stunning flush to my face. I love the colour, texture and packaging of this product and am looking forward to using it more.
Verdict: Rate

Lips
lip stick
mac lipstick
MAC Cremesheen Lipstick in Pure Zen £15.50 (Link)
I wanted to find a really nice nude that wouldn’t be too brown or too white and I came across this lipstick in MAC. I do quite like this, the colour is really nice it doesn’t make me look like a corpse but instead is a natural warm colour. The creamy texture of this is really nice, for me the only downside is that it did cling to dry patches on my lips, but a good lip balm can solve that.
Verdict: Rate

So that is it for this post, if you enjoyed this post and would like me to do a face of first impressions more often then please hit the like button. Let me know in the comments if you have tried any of these products and what you think of them.

Thanks for reading.
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rate or Hate – A Face of First Impressions

  1. plus+beauty27 says:

    I really love this look on you! Great review as always! 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

