Halloween Look with Poundstretcher

I was recently given the opportunity to work with Pound Stretcher to help them with their new Halloween items. I was sent over a Black and Pink wig, a vampire makeup kit and a witch makeup kit and was challenged to create a look for Halloween. Today I’m going to talk you through the look that I created and will share my thoughts with you on the range.

Disclaimer: The items used in this tutorial were sent as PR Samples, all opinions are my own.

hallooween
I wanted to use as much of my items as possible, we were told that if we wanted we could also use out own makeup items but I wanted to rise to the challenge and try and use only the products from Poundstretcher.

Initially I was a little worried as I’m usually allergic to face paint and I do have sensitive skin, but thankfully this didn’t irritate my skin. It is quite oily so I would recommend that if you do use it to cleanse your face throughly afterwards and to use a mud mask to rid your skin of the excess oil. The fact that it is quite oily though does meant that unlike some face paints it isn’t a nightmare to remove.

To start with the look I used the white face paint and the sponge applicator provided in both the Vampire makeup kit and the Witch makeup kit to make my face look as pale as possible. The makeup is slippy so if you do suffer from oily skin it may be worth setting with a powder although I didn’t bother doing that.

Once I’d finished I used the black grease paint and the black grease paint sticks from both sets to create black shadows around my eyes. I wasn’t expecting the grease sticks to product much pigment but the black ones were surprisingly good and were very creamy and didn’t tug on the skin. I also used the black grease sticks to create a shadow on my chin and to create some cracks across my face to make myself look as if my skin was cracking and peeling away.

I did find that the red grease stick didn’t seem to produce a lot of pigment, whilst this is good for kids because it won’t stain the skin or clothes, I did find that it was difficult to use so I mixed in a dab of red lipstick and smeared that across my mouth and onto my chin. I wanted to look like a vampire that had just fed so I deliberately applied it messily so my mouth looked like it was coated in blood. After that I added to rubber vampire teeth into my mouth and and the wig to complete the look.

Overall I was pleasantly surprised by this range, for such a low cost the products are not bad. I didn’t have a problem with skin irritation and I found that because the products were oily that they wiped away easily and didn’t stain my clothes. I would say that these kits are family friendly and good for young children on Halloween providing that their parents apply the products.

Although these are not currently on the Poundstretcher website, these products are available in Poundstretcher stores and are priced under five pounds each.

I hope that you enjoyed this post, it was a little different to my usual posts but I did enjoy the challenge. Let me know in the comments what you thought of this look and what you are thinking of doing for Halloween.

Thanks for reading.
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Crazy/Wacky Makeup, Makeup Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

