LOTD – Marilyn Monroe Inspired Makeup

When scouring through the masses of beauty blogs that I like to read I often come across “look of the day” posts. I haven’t actually done one before so I thought I’d give one a go. I took inspiration from Marilyn Monroe for this look, glowing skin, a red lip and winged liner is a timeless look and is one of my favourites to wear both day and night.

finish

On my eyes:
Collection Lasting Colour Gel Liner
I really like this gel liner it’s a great budget buy. I’ve used this on my upper lash line and then winged it out to create a feline flick. This is great for elongating round eyes and always looks really classy.
L’oreal Telescopic Mascara (gold tubed one)
This is my go to mascara for when I want length, I’ve used two coats (the second applied whilst the first is wet) to get long, dark lashes. The plastic curved brush is great for hugging lashes and coating them from root to tip.
L’oreal Contour Kohl in Black
I used this on my lower waterline just to outline and accentuate my eyes. This eyeliner stays put and comes out really black as opposed to the faded black a lot of kohl eyeliners offer. This is another great buy.
Sleek Brow Kit in Dark (Brows)
I’ve used this on my brows, the wax is great for filling in and shaping the brows and the setting powder is finely milled and works perfectly for setting the brows in place. The two mini brushes, tweezers and mirror are also great for fixing the brows on the go.

On my face:
Clinique Redness Solutions Daily Protective Base with SPF15
I picked this up brand new from a Car Boot Sale for a pound and I absolutely adore it. It’s a watery liquid with SPF and a slight green tinge to counteract redness. I use this all over my face to calm down and conceal any redness or blotchiness and it works a treat. I love the fact that it also contains SPF to keep my skin protected throughout the day.
Collection Cover Up Stick in Light Translucent
I’ve nearly completely used this up, I use this to conceal any excess redness that my primer hasn’t completely covered, this is a thicker concealer stick but acts as a great base for my foundation.
Revlon Colourstay Makeup in Ivory
I absolutely adore this foundation, it offers medium coverage and makes my skin look dewy without looking cakey or heavy. Better yet out of all of the foundations that I have tried this one has the best longevity by far. Now I never have to suffer from that dreaded five o clock slip!
Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in 001 Fair
A cult classic and for good reason, this conceals my under eye circles, spots and any other lumps or bumps that I may have on my face. This doesn’t cake and stays in place all day. Even better this only costs between three and four pounds.
Natural Collection Blushed Cheeks in Pink Cloud
This is my go-to blusher when I want a natural looking flush on my cheeks. This is a warm coral toned pink that is builadble, blendable and natural looking. I’m really impressed with this and can’t believe that it only costs £1.99.
Technic Highlights Complexion Enhancer
I’ve mentioned this before but this is my favourite liquid highlighter not least because it’s a dupe for the Benefit High Beam and the Mememe Beat The Blues and retails for £1.99 at Bodycare. This is a beautiful pink/gold highlighter that adds a nice glow to my face without an overload of glitter or shimmer.
Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in 003 Peach Glow
This is my holy grail face powder simply because I’ve used it for years and it has never failed me. This is great for setting the makeup and mattifying the face without you looking cakey. It’s super cost friendly and £3.99 and one tub will lasts for ages. I’d always recommend this to people, especially those with oily skin.

On My Lips:
Pantina Cosmetics Moonlove Lip Liner in Scarlet
I got some of these in a bundle of makeup that I bought from Ebay and although I’ve never heard of the brand before these are amazing. They always prevent my lipstick from bleeding and feathering and they’re soft and creamy enough to just glide over the lips. I also like how they act as a base for my lipstick but don’t feel drying.
Natural Collection Lipstick in Cherry Red
My current favourite lipstick for when I want a bright, red lip. This is fun, pretty and surprisingly good quality despite only costing £1.99. This doesn’t feel drying on my lips and offers a really lovely satin red finish.

So that is it for this post, it’s a little different to my usual posts but I hope that you enjoyed it. Let me know in the comments if you’d like me to do more LOTD posts in the future or if you’re not really interested in them. I aim to please!

Thanks for reading.
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Makeup Tutorials, Wearable Makeup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to LOTD – Marilyn Monroe Inspired Makeup

  1. plus+beauty27 says:

    Beautiful and classic 🙂 xox

Leave a Reply

