Nautically Inclined – Nautical Makeup Tutorial

If there’s one trend that repeats every year in the summer is has to be Nautical. Women across the glove develop a penchant for striped bikinis, anchor accessories and of course anything in the shade red, white or blue. Today I’ve become inspired by the Nautical trend and I’ve put together a tutorial which will help you stay bang on trend with nautical makeup.

before photo
As usual here is a photo of me without any makeup on, as you can see I look very plain, my skin has a few blemishes and my lips are boring. I’ve posted this photo as a comparison point for before and after.

Eye Products
eye products
(Left to right: BH Cosmetics 88 Shimmer Eyeshadow Palette, Collection Lasting Colour Gel Eyeliner in Black, L’oreal Contour Kohl in Black, GOSH Velvet Touch Eyeliner in Sky High, Soap and Glory Archery Brow Tint and Precision Pencil in Brownie Points, L’oreal Telescopic Mascara in Black.)

The first thing I did with my eye makeup was to carefully line my upper eyelid with the Collection Lasting Colour Gel Eyeliner in Black, a lot of people rocking nautical outfits often opt for a winged cat eye and I’ve done exactly the same, I’ve flicked it out at the outer corners to get that feline flick that makes my eyes long longer and wider. Next above the black line I drew, I did another line across my eyelid but this time I used the GOSH Eyeliner Pencil in Sky High, a beautiful creamy textured pencil with a bold, blue pigmentation just perfect for creating a striking eye. I then used my BH Cosmetics 88 Shimmer Eyeshadow Palette and used a blue shadow and worked it into my crease and up towards my brow bone. I then used my L’oreal Telescopic Mascara to create long, lengthened lashes, before swiping a little bit of my L’oreal Eyeliner across my lower waterline to create a smokier effect. Finally I used the Soap and Glory Precision Brow Tint and Precision Pencil on my eyebrows to help define and shape them. This is what my eyes looked like.
eyes edit

Face Products
face products
(Left to right: Technic High Lights Complexion Highlighter, Sleek Blush in Rose Gold, Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in Fair, L’oreal True Match Foundation in Rose Ivory, Benefit Porefessional mini)

The next thing I wanted to work one was to get flawless looking skin to compliment my bold eye makeup. Firstly I used the Benefit Porefessional Primer to smooth out my uneven complexion and to fill in any pores. Then I applied my L’oreal True Match Foundation across my face to create a nice pale looking complexion. Next up was concealer and I applied the Collection Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Concealer on any noticeable blemishes and on my dark under eye circles. I then applied some of my Technic High Lights Complexion Highlighter across my cheekbones, down the centre of my nose and above my cupid’s bow, before dusting some of my Sleek Blush in Rose Gold across the apples of my cheeks to add a subtle coral glow with just a hint of gold shimmer. This is what my face makeup looked like.
face

Lip Products
lip products
(Left to right: Maybelline Baby Lips in Cherry Me, MUA Lipstick in Shade 1, Natural Collection Lipstick in Cherry Red)

For me, the key feature of nautical makeup has to be red, glossy lips, and so I started by applying my Maybelline Baby Lips to prevent my lips from getting dry before applying my Natural Collection Lipstick in Cherry Red and then adding my MUA Lipstick in Shade 1 over the top to get the perfect shade of red. This is what my lips looked like.
lips edit

The Finished Look
full look

So that’s it for my nautical makeup tutorial, if you enjoyed it please hit the like button and let me know in the comments if you are a nautical lover or a nautical hater.

Thanks for reading
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Crazy/Wacky Makeup, Makeup Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nautically Inclined – Nautical Makeup Tutorial

  1. Lucy says:

    Fun makeup! LOVE the lips 😀

Leave a Reply

