Gothic Beauty Makeup Tutorial

So I know it’s spring and the beauty world is full of pastel makeup tutorials, but I’m not going to lie I never was good at following the rules and if I’m honest sometimes I like to just mix it up a bit, which brings me on to today’s post. As a teenager my wardrobe was (and kind of still is) full of black clothes, my prized position was my Dr Martens and is now my Demonia Boots and my makeup collection was full of deep berry toned lipsticks and thick black eyeliners that I’ve been itching to use, so here you have it, a tutorial for the Gothic Beauty look.

Barefaced
barefaced
So this is a makeup tutorial meaning that I needed to post the obligatory “before” photo, so this is me barefaced looking pretty rough as I’ve not been well and have had trouble sleeping lately, but there you have it. At least you have a comparison point.

Eye Makeup
eye products
(From left to right: Collection Lasting Colour Gel Eyeliner, Rimmel London Glam Eyes Quad Eyeshadow in Smokey Noir, Benefit They’re Real Mascara (mini), Mac Smoulder Kohl Eyeliner Pencil, Soap and Glory Archery Precision Brow Tint and Eyebrow Pencil in Brownie Points)

When I’m in a Gothic mood I tend to love to do dark, dramatic eyes, a pale face and vampy lips and this is no exception. I started my lining my upper lash line with the Collection Lasting Colour Gel Eyeliner in Black (click here to buy), this is the first time I’ve used this product and the first time I’ve used a gel eyeliner and I have to say I’m very impressed, it glided onto my lids easily and the tiny brush that came with the product was fine enough to line my eyes perfectly. Next I used the top shade of my Rimmel London Glam Eyes Quad Eyeshadow in Smokey Noir, this particular shade is a matte, dark grey which creates a really smokey look on the eyes which I love. I adore this eyeshadow quad and would definitely recommend it, you can purchase it here. I then lined my lower waterline with my MAC Smoulder Kohl, I really like this eyeliner as it glides onto my waterline and is also really blendable, you can purchase this here. Next I went over the MAC Smoulder Kohl with my Collection Lasting Colour Gel Eyeliner just to ensure that my eyeliner didn’t budge. I then applied a coat of the Benefit They’re Real Mascara which I absolutely adore (click here to buy) before filling in and shaping my brows with my Soap and Glory Archery Brow Tint and Precision Pencil (click here to buy) another product which I’m really impressed with. This is how my eyes looked.

eyes with flash edit

Face Makeup
face products
(From left to right: L’oreal True Match Foundation in Rose Ivory, Technic Highlights Complexion Highlighter, Benefit The Porefessional, Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in 003 Peach Glow, Collection Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Concealer in 001 Fair, Sleek Blusher in Rose Gold)

I really wanted my skin to be pale and as flawless as possible as I didn’t want my dark under eye circles or any blemishes to detract attention away from my dramatic smokey eyes. I started by applying the Benefit Porefessional as a base to just fill in any pores and even out my complexion, this is a silicone primer so is taking me a while to get used to it but I really like it and you can buy it here. Next I used my L’oreal True Match Foundation and applied this with my Avon brush and gently dabbed it onto my face to get an even coverage. I quite like this foundation and the combination of this and the Benefit Poressional really work with each other to make my skin appear airbrushed you can buy this foundation here. I then used my Collection Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Concealer and applied it my dabbing it onto my under eye circles and any noticeable blemishes I had before blending it into my foundation. There has been a huge hype about this concealer but I can absolutely see why it covers my dark circles and really just does everything it claims to do, it’s super cost friendly and is an amazing product you can purchase it here. Next I lightly dusted some of my Sleek Blusher in Rose Gold (click here to buy) onto my cheeks just to add a hint of colour to prevent me looking ill, this is a lovely coral coloured blush shot through with tiny gold shimmer particles to create a subtle shimmer. I then use my beloved Technic High Lights Complexion Highlighter (click here to buy) and applied a small amount to my cheekbones and cupids bow just to add a little more dimension to my face. I love this highighter and I’ve said it multiple times but will say it again, this is an EXCELLENT dupe for the Benefit High Beam. Finally I applied my favourite Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in 003 Peach Glow (click here to buy) just to help to set my makeup and to banish any shine. This is what my face looked like.

face with flash

Lip Makeup
lip products
(Left to right: Rimmel London Moisture Renewal Lipstick in Plumful, Maybelline Colour Sensational Shine Gloss in Stellar Berry)

I only used two products on my lips but was left with a glossy vampy lip which I absolutely adored. I started by using the Rimmel London Moisture Renewal Lipstick in Plumful which can be purchased here. I absolutely adore this berry red and always find it really versatile to use. The Rimmel London Moisture Renewal Lipsticks are lovely and nourishing on the lips and can be worn without the worry that your lips will be left feeling dry and flakey. I then used the Maybelline Colour Sensational Shine Gloss in Stellar Berry a lovely glossy berry tone that I absolutely adore (click here to buy.) These lip glosses smell lovely almost exactly like the strawberry flavoured Quality Street and they feel really nice on the lips as well, glossy but not sticky. This is how my lips looked.

lips with flash edit

The Finished Look
finished look with flash
To finish the look off I just plaited my hair, I find that plaits and braids can look really edgy and alternative when worn with the right clothes and makeup, with a PVC skirt, Demonia Boots and a T shirt the plaits really work, and I get to show off my piercings at the same time.

Overall I hope you enjoyed this post, if you did please hit the like button and do let me know what you think in the comments. Don’t forget I am on Twitter @ninarossjournal and Bloglovin at http://www.bloglovin.com/ninaross5 so feel free to head over there for a chat.

Thanks for reading
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Makeup Tutorials, Wearable Makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gothic Beauty Makeup Tutorial

  1. love the eye makeup & brows, they look fab 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

