Burlesque Babe – Dita Von Teese Makeup Tutorial

Hey everyone, so today I was thinking about celebrities and how some of them have really iconic styles, and to me if there’s one celebrity who simply screams style icon it has to be Dita Von Teese and so I decided to put together a little tutorial for how you can transform yourself into a Burlesque Babe, please bear in mind that I’m not a makeup artist I’m just someone who loves makeup, and I am actually ill today so in the photo where I have no makeup on my skin is awful, but apart from that I’ve given it my best shot and here’s what I came up with.

Icon
dita von teese
I think it goes without saying that I did not take this photo, although I deepply admire Dita and her style unfortunately I don’t know her so I did have to resort to Google Images. In this photo you can see that Dita is rocking a stunning cat eye, long black lashes, pale and luminous skin with a hint of a flush, rocking red lips and glossy styled curls. In this tutorial I will show you how to replicate these features to create a burlesque look.

Barefaced
freshfaced
As you can see I’m not looking great today, my skin is quite blotchy and I do have dark circles under my eyes, these are just some of the things that I will be banishing to become burlesque, anyway now you have a not-so-sexy before photo I’ll get on with the tutorial and which products I used.

Eyes
eye products
(Left to right, L’oreal Telescopic Mascara in Black, Soap and Glory Thick and Fast Mascara in Black, Collection Extreme 24 Hr Felt Tip Liner, Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Black/Brown and W7 Liquid Eyeliner in Black.)

The first thing I did was to create the feline flick that Dita is rocking. I used the Collection Extreme 24 Hr Felt Tip Liner to line my upper lash line and swept it out to create a flick. The Collection Extreme 24Hr Felt Tip Liner is quite easy to work with as the nib is really flexible (click here to buy) however I find the formula a little pale and watery so I went over the line with my W7 Liquid Eyeliner an affordable liquid eyeliner with a fine nib just perfect for creating winged eyeliner with, you can buy this here. I then used the L’oreal Telescopic Mascara to separate my eyelashes and to curl them upwards and outwards, (click here to buy) before using my Soap and Glory Thick and Fast Mascara to add volume to my lashes particularly on the edges (click here to buy), I finally used my Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Black/Brown to fill in the gaps in my eyebrows and to exaggerate the arch which you can buy here. This is how my eye makeup looked once I had finished.

eyes edit

Face
face products
(Left to right: Collection Cover Up Stick in Light Translucent, L’oreal True Match Foundation in Rose Ivory, Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Peach Glow, Natural Collection Blushed Cheeks in Pink Cloud, Collection Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Concealer in Fair, Technic High Lights Complexion Highlighter.)

The first thing I wanted to do with my skin was to conceal all of the redness and blotchiness on my face and so I used my Collection Cover Up Stick in Light Translucent. As a concealer this isn’t great for under eye circles and spots as it has a waxy texture and thick formula, however for redness it is great and you can buy it here. The next step was to echo Dita’s pale complexion and so I used my L’oreal True Match Foundation in Rose Ivory. The L’oreal foundation is a little on the thin side for me in reference to coverage however it does match my skin really well and definitely worked to create a pale complexion, you can purchase it here. Next I used my Collection Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Concealer in Fair to conceal any spots and blemishes I had and of course to conceal my under eye circles, I absolutely love this concealer and definitely think that it deserves the hype and attention that it has been getting, you can purchase it here. Next I created a natural looking flush by sweeping my Natural Collection Blushed Cheeks in Pink Cloud across my cheeks. I absolutely adore this blusher, it creates a perfect natural looking flush on the cheeks and blends really easily into my makeup. The colour can be built up to create a slight tiny or an obvious contour which I like and this blusher can be purchased here. I then used my Technic High Lights Complexion Highlighter (great dupe for Benefit High Beam) across my cheekbones, above my cupids bow, on my chin and down the centre of my nose up onto my forehead to add more dimension to my face, this is an excellent cream highlighter and can be purchased here. Finally I used my trusty Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Peach Glow, to add a slight glow to my face and to set my makeup in place, this is a truly excellent powder and is my favourite drugstore/highstreet powder at the moment and can be purchased here. This was the final result of my face makeup.

face makeup

Lips
lip products
(Left to right: Rimmel Kate Lasting Finish Lipstick in Shade 11, Natural Collection Lip Lines in Plum, Lipcote Lip Sealer)

I don’t currently own a super bright red lipstick and so I often for a slightly deeper red in the form of my Rimmel Kate Lasting Finish Lipstick in Shade 11 which can be purchased here. In all honesty I’m not a huge fan of the Rimmel Kate Lasting Finish Lipsticks as I find that they bleed really badly and they fade unevenly leaving the lips looking patchy and are therefore very high maintenance, but if you don’t mind touching up your lipstick all the time they’re not too bad. I do like the Natural Collection Lip Lines but unfortunately these can’t be purchased online although you can get them in Boots. I do like these lip liners as they hydrating and do their job but I do wish that there was a wider range of colours as even the plum shade is a little bright. I absolutely love Lipcote which can be purchased here, it’s great for holding the lipstick in place for hours on end and is one of my beauty essentials. This is how my lips looked.

lips edit

My hair was straightened yesterday so I couldn’t replicate Dita’s curls sadly, but I did pin a lot of it back to try and emulate this particular look, overall I don’t think I did a terrible job and I definitely enjoyed doing this look, here’s my after photo with another photo of Dita as a comparison.

dita von teese
(The lovely Dita)

finale
(And my attempt at replicating her look)

Thank you all for reading, I hope you enjoyed this post, if you did please hit the like button and feel free to let me know your opinions in the comments although try not to be too harsh!

Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Crazy/Wacky Makeup, Makeup Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

